Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Bristol Bombay  (Read 3494 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

NavyAce

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Bristol Bombay
« Reply #36 on: June 13, 2018, 03:59:44 PM »

Thanks vampire. I'll try that with the 410 FM

NavyAce
Logged

NavyAce

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Bristol Bombay
« Reply #37 on: June 13, 2018, 08:11:45 PM »

Hello Again,

       I would like to thank everyone who has responded and has tried to help me. I very much appreciate all the time you have spent listening to my frustrations. Unfortunately I am not an expert in game installs and I am a little confused as to the way the installation instructions are worded in the readme. As I have said above I have tried various combinations with no success. For someone like me I need step by step instructions on how and what to do something when I am not sure. That's the only way I know to get things right and I am not afraid to ask for help. Before proceeding further I would like to pose a few preliminary questions to all of you to show what I have been going through.
I know these are probably basic questions for most of you but I keep having trouble getting this plane installed correctly. Here is what I did step by step.  I believe I followed all instructions to the letter.

I installed the folders 01_Weapons_USA_GB, 05_SSP_Bristol_Bombay,  and 06_ Bristol Bombay_FLY directly into "Modact 5.30 main game folder > #SAS".

Following all instructions I added the appropriate lines to the .ini files, #SAS > STD > com > maddox > il2 > objects > air.ini,  #SAS > STD > com > maddox > il2 > objects > stationary.ini,  and #SAS > STD > com > maddox > il2 > objects > technics.ini.

along with lines in #SAS > STD > i18n > plane, #SAS > STD > i18n > technics,  and #SAS > STD > i18n > weapons.properties.

I replaced the "Bombay_FM" file in #SAS > 06_ Bristol Bombay_FLY with the "Bombay_FM" file from the download link at the bottom off the first post for the 4.10 diff mod.

   Question 1:  Did I put that file (the 4.10 file) in the right place?
   Question 2, There are two folders with minus signs in front of them in the "Bristol_Bombay_FLY" folder,
                                                  "-FM_409_SAS" and "-FM_409_UV2_UV3".
                    What, if anything, should be done with them?

   Question 3, I have a 16:9 monitor.  The ModAct runs fine as is.  Do I need to do anything with the folder
                                                 "- if your monitor is 19-9_"?

 Thanks in advance for any and all help. This is a learning experience for me so I appreciate the patience of all those much more knowledgeable than myself.

                          NavyAce
Logged

PO_MAK_249RIP

  • CMON U SPURS!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1380
Re: Bristol Bombay
« Reply #38 on: June 13, 2018, 09:57:51 PM »

Logfile???
Logged
Corsair Carbide case, Intel core i5 4690 3.5ghz with Arctic Cooler, Asus Rock H97 performance, Gainward windforce OC GTX 960 2GB, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz, 256GB Crucial SSD, 500GB Seagate HDD, LG M Disc DVD rewriter, Windows 10 64bit.

NavyAce

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Bristol Bombay
« Reply #39 on: June 14, 2018, 03:12:26 PM »

Hello,
       The full and even partial logfile would not fit. Here is a summation of all the relevant Bombay entries. I hope this helps.

Logfile from first call for Bristol Bombay, 3X.
At end is last lines after calling all other FM planes.

####################################################################################################################################

FM called 'FlightModels/Bombay.fmd:Bombay_FM' is being loaded from File: 'bombay_fm'
[5:56:14 AM]   FM called 'FlightModels/Bombay.fmd:Bombay_FM' is being loaded from Alternative File: 'bombay_fm'
[5:56:14 AM]


FM called 'FlightModels/Bombay.fmd:Bombay_FM' is being loaded from File: 'bombay_fm'
[5:56:18 AM]   FM called 'FlightModels/Bombay.fmd:Bombay_FM' is being loaded from Alternative File: 'bombay_fm'
[5:56:18 AM]

FM called 'FlightModels/Bombay.fmd:Bombay_FM' is being loaded from File: 'bombay_fm'
[5:56:21 AM]   FM called 'FlightModels/Bombay.fmd:Bombay_FM' is being loaded from Alternative File: 'bombay_fm'
[5:56:21 AM]

   Main begin: null
[5:56:23 AM]   java.lang.NullPointerException
[5:56:23 AM]      at com.maddox.il2.builder.PlMisStatic.configure(PlMisStatic.java:660)
[5:56:23 AM]      at com.maddox.il2.builder.Plugin.loadAll(Plugin.java:152)
[5:56:23 AM]      at com.maddox.il2.builder.Builder.<init>(Builder.java:2363)
[5:56:23 AM]      at com.maddox.il2.gui.GUIBuilder.<init>(GUIBuilder.java:90)
[5:56:23 AM]      at com.maddox.il2.gui.GUI.create(GUI.java:166)
[5:56:23 AM]      at com.maddox.il2.game.Main3D.beginApp(Main3D.java:1885)
[5:56:23 AM]      at com.maddox.il2.game.Main3D.beginApp(Main3D.java:1579)
[5:56:23 AM]      at com.maddox.il2.game.MainWin3D.beginApp(MainWin3D.java:212)
[5:56:23 AM]      at com.maddox.il2.game.Main.exec(Main.java:432)
[5:56:23 AM]      at com.maddox.il2.game.GameWin3D.main(GameWin3D.java:235)
[Jun 14, 2018 5:56:23 AM] -------------- END log session -------------
Logged

RealDarko

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1998
Re: Bristol Bombay
« Reply #40 on: June 15, 2018, 01:21:19 AM »

What a beautiful airplane, thanks to Edlor family for sharing his work.
Logged

PO_MAK_249RIP

  • CMON U SPURS!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1380
Re: Bristol Bombay
« Reply #41 on: June 15, 2018, 01:37:02 AM »

I can confirm this works great in my CUP install (4.12.2m) so navyace you must be doing something wrong?? Have you only got one Bombay_FM in your 06_Bristol Bombay_FLY folder? It should be just the 4.10 version. I deleted the other folders you refer too they shouldnt be neccessary I'm not even sure you need the 01_weapons folder either???
Logged
Corsair Carbide case, Intel core i5 4690 3.5ghz with Arctic Cooler, Asus Rock H97 performance, Gainward windforce OC GTX 960 2GB, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz, 256GB Crucial SSD, 500GB Seagate HDD, LG M Disc DVD rewriter, Windows 10 64bit.

SAS~vampire_pilot

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2148
  • The man of a million fixes
Re: Bristol Bombay
« Reply #42 on: June 15, 2018, 05:56:04 AM »

I can confirm this works great in my CUP install (4.12.2m)

I suppose you get the same bombardier offset problem though, right?
Logged

NavyAce

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Bristol Bombay
« Reply #43 on: June 15, 2018, 11:54:53 AM »

Yes, ONLY one FM file, the 410 FM file is in 06_Bristol Bombay_FLY.  The only other FM files are in the minused folders.  (see below).

 I deleted "-FM_409_SAS" and "-FM_409_UV2_UV3" folders and both "if your monitor" folders leaving the 3do, classfiles and BombayFM files.
 70% Crash.

 I removed "01_Weapons_USA_GB" folder from #SAS.

70% Crash.




Did you install any differently than the way I did it in the post above?
Logged

SAS~vampire_pilot

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2148
  • The man of a million fixes
Re: Bristol Bombay
« Reply #44 on: June 15, 2018, 12:25:33 PM »

I noticed one thing and that's the capitalization of the file naming:

FM called 'FlightModels/Bombay.fmd:Bombay_FM' is being loaded from File: 'bombay_fm'
[5:56:14 AM]   FM called 'FlightModels/Bombay.fmd:Bombay_FM' is being loaded from Alternative File: 'bombay_fm'
[5:56:14 AM]

my own Bombay_FM is in caps, as is the actual line in the java file. I am not sure but I think FMs are case sensitive....?
All the FM files in the zip I have are caps.
What's your FM file named, caps or lower case?
Logged

stoney69

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
Re: Bristol Bombay
« Reply #45 on: June 15, 2018, 03:09:22 PM »

I really sorry NavyAce, I just D/L the plane(s), put them in the #SAS folder and add the line to the air.ini and give her a go. If it works then fine, but if it does the 70% CDT I just remove it and restore the air.ini with back up I made and get on with things figuring I'll never know what to do. Most of this remains a complete mystery to me anyway. I'm sure you'll get it working with the help of some of really knowledgeable guys here.   Good luck!
Logged

NavyAce

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Bristol Bombay
« Reply #46 on: June 15, 2018, 03:15:16 PM »

Hi Vampire,

       Thanks for sticking with me on this. My FM file is right from the download, Bombay_FM. I tried changing the case of the loading from file to match the spelling in download dl but still no luck. Good idea. Thanks for replying.

       NavyAce
Logged

PO_MAK_249RIP

  • CMON U SPURS!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1380
Re: Bristol Bombay
« Reply #47 on: June 15, 2018, 10:43:42 PM »

I havent checked the bombadier station although i installd the flyable version i just use it as AI, cockpits fine tho.
Navyace, as vampire says your game appears to be calling for 2 different _fm's. Have you tried just deleting the whole package and starting again? If that doesnt work you maybe have a classfile conflict somewhere? Are you installing it before anything else? If so try renaming the folder and move it up or down the pecking order in your #SAS folder.
Logged
Corsair Carbide case, Intel core i5 4690 3.5ghz with Arctic Cooler, Asus Rock H97 performance, Gainward windforce OC GTX 960 2GB, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz, 256GB Crucial SSD, 500GB Seagate HDD, LG M Disc DVD rewriter, Windows 10 64bit.
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.026 seconds with 26 queries.