Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Brakes and Bandwidth  (Read 1196 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Binks

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Brakes and Bandwidth
« on: April 05, 2017, 06:07:12 AM »

Hi chaps.

I've been having some problems with brakes recently, on the server. I am finding that when I spawn in, start, and attempt to taxi, the brakes are on. I hit the 'B' key, and the brakes come off, but as soon as I accelerate to try and take off, they come on again, and invariably, I end up with a nose over, or I cannot achieve enough speed, and plough into the trees, hangers etc. I can try hitting the 'B' key repeatedly, and it does have some effect, enough to sometimes allow me to lumber into the air, but landing s then a bit hit and miss, as the brakes are on again. I was wondering if it might be something to do with bandwidth, or a high ping, as it's intermittent. Not sure it's worth posting a log file, but here it is anyway, with the error bits;
Code: [Select]
>CFC=Binks<.
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: BmpLoad_Pal8() - Bitmap 'PaintSchemes/Noseart/ABF_BULLSHEAD.bmp'Bad BMP Format!
Valid BMP format is only  uncompressed 8bit (palette) image
With width and height equals power of 2
Noseart PaintSchemes/Noseart/ABF_BULLSHEAD.bmp NOT loaded
INTERNAL ERROR: BmpLoad_Pal8() - Bitmap 'PaintSchemes/Noseart/ABF_USMC_BULLDOG.bmp'Bad BMP Format!
Valid BMP format is only  uncompressed 8bit (palette) image
With width and height equals power of 2
Noseart PaintSchemes/Noseart/ABF_USMC_BULLDOG.bmp NOT loaded
INTERNAL ERROR: BmpLoad_Pal8() - Bitmap 'PaintSchemes/Noseart/zvarga60.bmp'Bad BMP Format!
Valid BMP format is only  uncompressed 8bit (palette) image
With width and height equals power of 2
Noseart PaintSchemes/Noseart/zvarga60.bmp NOT loaded
Time overflow (1888): tickLen 168
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
Requesting A6M-21Late
ZSM_Air - Spawning new AC. Owner name is >CFC=Binks_0<
  JOYSTICK ENABLED!
Time overflow (2698): tickLen 93
warning: no files : music/takeoff
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
Chat: Server: Weapons Loadout OK
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
Chat: Server: Welcome to ~SAS~Ultrapack~
Chat: Server: In case of trouble, please report back at fac.sas1946.com
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
Chat: --- CFC=Binks bailed out.
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
ZutiAircraftCrew - setUserPosition: position >0< owner set to null!
ZutiNetSendMethods - ejectGunner >CFC=Binks< executed for user >CFC=Binks<.
warning: no files : music/crash
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped -50 -> 0 (delta = 50) to Range 0..0.95
Requesting A6M-21Late
ZSM_Air - Spawning new AC. Owner name is >CFC=Binks_0<
  JOYSTICK ENABLED!
warning: no files : music/takeoff
Chat: Server: Weapons Loadout OK
warning: no files
Logged
In case of failure, quote parachute packer number.

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17202
  • Ask me if I care.
    • Friendly Fire isn't.
Re: Brakes and Bandwidth
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2017, 06:47:07 AM »

Hi Binks,

The error log seems fine.
Brake commands are received from the net for AI and other player planes only.
Your local player aircraft does not receive any brake commands.
Theoretically if a net data stream gets fucked up completely, any command could be misinterpreted somewhere, but since the code block dealing with received control input looks like this
Code: [Select]
        public void netControls(int i)
        {
            FM.CT.GearControl = (i & 1) == 0 ? 0.0F : 1.0F;
            FM.CT.FlapsControl = (i & 2) == 0 ? 0.0F : 1.0F;
            FM.CT.BrakeControl = (i & 4) == 0 ? 0.0F : 1.0F;
            FM.CT.setRadiatorControl((i & 8) == 0 ? 0.0F : 1.0F);
            FM.CT.BayDoorControl = (i & 0x10) == 0 ? 0.0F : 1.0F;
            FM.CT.AirBrakeControl = (i & 0x20) == 0 ? 0.0F : 1.0F;
        }
it's safe to say that this is not the case in the situation you've described, since if it was, it won't be just that exact bit controlling the brakes which would get triggered all the time.
Instead all bits would be triggered sometimes, and they would get released too, meaning that Gear, Flaps, Brakes, Radiator, Baydoor and Airbrake would randomly do weird things.
But this isn't the case so it's not a network issue.

If I were to guess I would say that it's some control configuration mismatch.
Would be great if you could zip your "users" folder from IL-2 and send us a link to the uploaded pack.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Learn. Challenge. Improve. In loving memory of the times when I cared...

Binks

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Brakes and Bandwidth
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2017, 10:45:58 AM »

Thanks Mike,

here's a link to the default settings, and the settings files from the Users folder. Dropbox won't allow a link to the whole folder, but figured these might be the bits you need to look at; https://www.dropbox.com/s/jnr86ytvyx6a4ky/default.ini?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/38i5v3n7jw2bhlw/settings.ini?dl=0
Logged
In case of failure, quote parachute packer number.

Binks

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Brakes and Bandwidth
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2017, 10:48:27 AM »

Damn, I don't think dropbox will allow .ini files.Need to find another route!
Logged
In case of failure, quote parachute packer number.

SAS~Skylla

  • moderator
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1579
  • Flying Ass Clown N°24
Re: Brakes and Bandwidth
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2017, 11:00:34 AM »

just put the files in a zip-folder ;)
Logged
When all else fails: read the instructions!

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17202
  • Ask me if I care.
    • Friendly Fire isn't.
Re: Brakes and Bandwidth
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2017, 12:48:10 PM »

You do have an axis assigned to the brakes:

Code: [Select]
AXE_RX JoystickDevice0=brakes
X52?
Then this should be the slider on the throttle.
Logged
Learn. Challenge. Improve. In loving memory of the times when I cared...

Binks

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Brakes and Bandwidth
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2017, 07:10:54 AM »

 deleted that one before going online last evening, and still the same problem Mike. I was playing around to see if changing the assigned axis made any difference. I only have the brakes assigned to 'B' on the keyboard now. My keyboard is wireless, so going to play around with that too, see if changing the key makes any difference, though I doubt that's the issue, as the brakes come off, then go on again.
Logged
In case of failure, quote parachute packer number.

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17202
  • Ask me if I care.
    • Friendly Fire isn't.
Re: Brakes and Bandwidth
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2017, 08:59:24 AM »

the brakes come off, then go on again
...and that's exactly what I would expect when a Joystick axis is assigned to the brakes.
You hit the "B" key to release the brakes, and then a split-second later or maybe few seconds later the axis value changes from 255 to 254 and - bang! - your brakes are engaged again.
It's the "fluttering" effect of resistor type analogue axis which fits just perfectly here.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Learn. Challenge. Improve. In loving memory of the times when I cared...

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17202
  • Ask me if I care.
    • Friendly Fire isn't.
Re: Brakes and Bandwidth
« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2017, 09:28:13 AM »

*bump*

Binks, please find the announced test classes here:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/fylrc9c35eoce3b/Binks_Brake_Test.zip

Installation:
You must have UP3 Patch Pack 210 installed to proceed.
If you have so, extract the file "Binks_Brake_Test.zip" straight to your UP3 game folder.
Run JSGME and activate "!!! #UP#_Binks_Brake_Test".
Fly a few sorties until the issue arises and then leave the server and the game.
Finally, send us the logfile.
Read how to get the log here.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Learn. Challenge. Improve. In loving memory of the times when I cared...

Binks

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Brakes and Bandwidth
« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2017, 11:25:14 AM »

Thanks Mike,
been logging in to try and make it happen all afternoon, but wouldn't you know it, all is working at the moment. Yesterday, I was on with BD, and it happened consistently with the Me410, but not when I switched to a Ju88.

Also getting this message when I activate the brakes test patch in the JSGME;
'Folder "#UP#" has already been added by the "#UP#_Patch_Pack_210" mod'
Anything I'm doing wrong, or should I just ignore the message?
Logged
In case of failure, quote parachute packer number.

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17202
  • Ask me if I care.
    • Friendly Fire isn't.
Re: Brakes and Bandwidth
« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2017, 12:29:55 PM »

You can ignore the message and keep testing with these new test classes then.
Once the issue occurred with the test classes in place,the log should tell us more.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Learn. Challenge. Improve. In loving memory of the times when I cared...
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.012 seconds with 25 queries.