Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Bright  (Read 1136 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

wurgerfan

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
Bright
« on: February 09, 2017, 04:51:42 AM »

Hi all
Not sure if this is the right place to ask but I am having a difficult time with the Bright program. Does not open when I try to open the exe. I am currently using windows 10 and not sure if that has anything to do with it. A little technically challenged. Any advice or suggestions much appreciated.
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15525
  • Ask me if I care.
    • Friendly Fire isn't.
Re: Bright
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2017, 04:54:28 AM »

bright.exe is a command line tool.
You need to open a command prompt and run bright from there.
Additionall bright downloads ship with a readme clearly stating that fact.
There's also a bright plugin available for photoshop which is much easier to use.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Learn. Challenge. Improve. In loving memory of the times when I cared...

max_thehitman

  • SAS~Area51
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8524
  • Beer...Girls...IL2+Mods!
Re: Bright
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2017, 05:06:57 AM »


if you use photoshop place it into...

C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS5\Plug-ins

Once in photoshop when you open the window FILE from Menu list ,
you will see "Export" and that is where it is located.
Logged
Everything I like is either illegal, immoral or fattening ! Welcome to SAS1946

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15525
  • Ask me if I care.
    • Friendly Fire isn't.
Re: Bright
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2017, 05:17:38 AM »

Adobe Photoshop CS5
This part of the path may differ, depending on the Photoshop version being used.
Nevertheless it's important to point out the the bright plugin only works with 32 Bit Photoshop versions.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Learn. Challenge. Improve. In loving memory of the times when I cared...

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5937
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: Bright
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2017, 05:55:41 AM »

You dont need Bright if you got Photoshop. If you're converting images to only 256 colors, you want to use the latest and best color reduction algorithms. This is the best way to convert your images to 8bit color depth, you save a 8bit png and then simply resave it as bmp format (do not use image/mode/indexed color):



SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15525
  • Ask me if I care.
    • Friendly Fire isn't.
Re: Bright
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2017, 08:20:04 AM »

You dont need Bright if you got Photoshop
But it gives better results.

This is a comparison between an original 4096² skin, the 1024² web-export to png8 and 1024² bright export.
Top: Original
Center: PNG8
Lower: Bright

Note the pale colors of the PNG8 export and the dithering especially on yellow surface areas.
Click for full size.







I'd definitely recommend bright.

Best regards - Mike'
Logged
Learn. Challenge. Improve. In loving memory of the times when I cared...

wurgerfan

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
Re: Bright
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2017, 10:21:22 AM »

Thanks Gentlemen  for your assistance. With your help I have resolved my problem.
Logged

max_thehitman

  • SAS~Area51
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8524
  • Beer...Girls...IL2+Mods!
Re: Bright
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2017, 10:37:14 AM »

Adobe Photoshop CS5
This part of the path may differ, depending on the Photoshop version being used.
Nevertheless it's important to point out the the bright plugin only works with 32 Bit Photoshop versions.

Best regards - Mike
Yes, installation may vary from version to version.

I would also like to point out that it does work with a 64bit version too. I have Photoshop-CS5 for 64bit and 32bit installed
and this Bright works for both.
 If you look around for a download, you will find the 64bit version  ;)

VPmedia is also correct, you don´t always need to use "bright".   Do what he suggests and give it a try.

Have fun painting some cool skins!

Logged
Everything I like is either illegal, immoral or fattening ! Welcome to SAS1946

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15525
  • Ask me if I care.
    • Friendly Fire isn't.
Re: Bright
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2017, 11:10:13 AM »

If you look around for a download, you will find the 64bit version  ;)
I must be blind.
But seriously, you can see the comparison of bright vs. Photoshop's PNG8 palette reduction above, and it clearly points out that even though PNG8 is better than the simple palette change, it still sucks compared to bright.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Learn. Challenge. Improve. In loving memory of the times when I cared...

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5937
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: Bright
« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2017, 12:38:54 PM »

It can be that Bright was updated since I've checked it quite a while ago. Looks like I need to do my own tests with a more weathered 1024 skin without any resizing. :)

Pivoyvo

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 293
  • Ein Tiecher bleibt immer Siecher
Re: Bright
« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2018, 05:39:28 AM »

Hello
I want´t to know, if anyone has the bright Plugin working on Corel Paint Shop Pro 2019 64bit
and if so, then please tell me how he has made it.

Thanks
Logged

Fresco23

  • Part-Time Skinner
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2102
  • F.A.C. #23
Re: Bright
« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2018, 07:12:40 AM »

You dont need Bright if you got Photoshop. If you're converting images to only 256 colors, you want to use the latest and best color reduction algorithms. This is the best way to convert your images to 8bit color depth, you save a 8bit png and then simply resave it as bmp format (do not use image/mode/indexed color):


Interesting! presumably this method would work with GIMP?
Logged
cogito, ergo sum armatus
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.062 seconds with 27 queries.