Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Noob asking about HD textures  (Read 1212 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Baja

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Noob asking about HD textures
« on: September 06, 2016, 06:20:01 PM »

Hi all.

Forgive my stupidity and naivety if it is the case, but does the current CUP installer come with Hi res textures for ground and aircraft, or do I need to install them separately?

I've only just installed CUP, so haven't fathomed it all out yet. I've got Carsmaster's true color mod activated, along with the water mod, so am getting beautiful water effects, but the ground textures look horrible in comparison. I've seen hi res ground textures in the individual mod section of this site, but wondered if these were already part of my newly installed CUP mod, or not.

And the same question regarding 2k aircraft skins.

If I have to download them separately, can anyone suggest a pack or some good options?

Just trying to get this game to look as good as it is to play.

Thanks in advance

Barry.
Logged

Zoran395

  • Mapper
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 355
Re: Noob asking about HD textures
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2016, 05:11:17 AM »

Would you be flying on maps that have oldish base textures files at 512x512 pixels base files or even 256x256?

Standard now is at 1024x1024 and should look ok with your new CUP install.
I mean it may be map dependent.
How do Stalingrad (Cyberolas) and Smolensk (Cyberolas as well) look?
They have excellent textures.
VPMedia and his pack has amazing textures as well.

From my lab, I get this with 1024x1024, which is to my liking for some early snow:


Logged

Baja

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Noob asking about HD textures
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2016, 05:39:38 AM »

I wouldn't be at all surprised if they were 512x512 or lower - I'm certainly not seeing anything like your screenshot. I tried the Moscow map, and it was essentially a white blanket with a few roads and trees popping up here and there. I'll take a screenshot tonight, along with trying Stalingrad and Smolensk.

Sorry, I'm new to modding as well as CUP, so bear with me here...

Is it easy to tell what resolution the maps are? Do I need to enable them within jsgme or alter something in the conf.ini, or are they ready to go, providing they're in the right folder?

Again, same questions for the aircraft too.

And those pics in your link... *drool*! That's what I'm after!!! I saw the vpmedia mod pack - will that slot in quite nicely into the CUP install?
Logged

SGT68

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 320
Re: Noob asking about HD textures
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2016, 06:52:45 AM »

I wouldn't be at all surprised if they were 512x512 or lower - I'm certainly not seeing anything like your screenshot. I tried the Moscow map, and it was essentially a white blanket with a few roads and trees popping up here and there. I'll take a screenshot tonight, along with trying Stalingrad and Smolensk.

Sorry, I'm new to modding as well as CUP, so bear with me here...

Is it easy to tell what resolution the maps are? Do I need to enable them within jsgme or alter something in the conf.ini, or are they ready to go, providing they're in the right folder?

Again, same questions for the aircraft too.

And those pics in your link... *drool*! That's what I'm after!!! I saw the vpmedia mod pack - will that slot in quite nicely into the CUP install?


Alter the conf.ini graphics section.. start by maxing out everything and then work backward until you get good fps. Tinkering with settings in Nviadia Control Panel is also necessary. Don't forget to make your conf.ini 'read only' after manually altering it, otherwise IL-2 will overwrite your settings with what IT wants.
Logged
"A day without slaughter is like a day without sunshine" ..Marcus Kincaid

Baja

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Noob asking about HD textures
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2016, 10:26:25 AM »

Just out of interest, does this like I'm using the decent textures? This is Slovakia, and a 2k skin I found of a FW190 A4 by Hannig



Logged

SGT68

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 320
Re: Noob asking about HD textures
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2016, 11:13:55 AM »

Just out of interest, does this like I'm using the decent textures? This is Slovakia, and a 2k skin I found of a FW190 A4 by Hannig



Difficult to tell from the pic. It will be easier to help you if you post the contents of your conf.ini file

For me the Ardennes winter map gives a clearer indication

Here it is on max graphics. All graphics settings in conf.ini on 3.


Logged
"A day without slaughter is like a day without sunshine" ..Marcus Kincaid

Baja

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Noob asking about HD textures
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2016, 02:54:42 PM »

As requested...

conf.ini file:

Code: [Select]
[il2]
title=Il2-Sturmovik 1946
hotkeys=HotKey game

[window]
width=1680
height=1050
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0
WideScreenFoV=1
UIColor=0
UIDetail=0
UIBackground=rnd

[GLPROVIDER]
GL=Opengl32.dll

[GLPROVIDERS]
Open GL=Opengl32.dll
DirectX=dx8wrap.dll

[NET]
speed=25000
routeChannels=0
serverChannels=31
localPort=21000
remotePort=21000
SkinDownload=1
serverName=No Name
serverDescription=
remoteHost=
localHost=
socksHost=
checkServerTimeSpeed=1
checkClientTimeSpeed=0
disableNetStatStatistics=0
showPilotNumber=1
showPilotPing=1
showPilotName=1
showPilotScore=1
showTeamScore=0
cumulativeTeamScore=0
showPilotArmy=1
showPilotACDesignation=1
showPilotACType=1
filterUserNames=0
reflyKIADelay=0
maxAllowedKIA=-1
reflyKIADelayMultiplier=0.0
reflyDisabled=0
allowMorseAsText=1
allowCustomSounds=1

[MaxLag]
farMaxLagTime=10.0
nearMaxLagTime=2.0
cheaterWarningDelay=5.0
cheaterWarningNum=-1

[chat]
region=(dx=0.6925,dy=0.071666665,x=0.0,y=0.0)

[game]
Arcade=0
HighGore=0
mapPadX=0.66928566
mapPadY=-0.046666667
viewSet=32
Intro=1
NoSubTitles=0
NoChatter=0
NoHudLog=0
NoLensFlare=0
iconTypes=3
eventlog=eventlog.lst
eventlogkeep=0
3dgunners=1
ScreenshotType=1
RecordingIndicator=0
MapAlpha=0.99
SaveTrk=1
SkipParatrooperViews=0
NoMissionInfoHud=0
noKillInfoHud=0
BlockMorseChat=0
SmallMapWPLabels=1
ShowMorseAsText=0
IconUnits=0
TypeClouds=1


[HotKey game]
PrintScreen=ScreenShot
P=pause
Pause=pause

[HotKey gui]
Escape=activate

[HookViewFly Config]
timeFirstStep=2.0
deltaZ=10.0

[HookView]
MouseLeft=Len

[HookView Config]
AzimutSpeed=0.1
TangageSpeed=0.1
LenSpeed=1.0
MinLen=1.0
DefaultLen=20.0
MaxLen=3000.0
Speed=6
LeanF=0.2
LeanS=0.2
Raise=0.089999996
RubberBand=0.04

[HotKey builder]
MouseLeft=objectMove
MouseRight=popupmenu
Enter=freeView
Shift MouseLeft=worldZoom
Alt MouseLeft=select+
Alt MouseRight=select-
Alt Ctrl=unselect
PageDown=change+
PageUp=change-
End=change++
Home=change--
Ctrl MouseLeft=insert+
Insert=insert+
NumPad-0=insert+
F=fill
Ctrl MouseRight=delete+
NumPad.=delete+
Delete=delete+
Backspace=cursor
Tab=cursor
F10=land
F11=onLand
NumPad-=normalLand
NumPad+=toLand
NumPad-5=resetAngles
NumPad-8=resetTangage90
NumPad-7=stepAzimut-5
NumPad-4=stepAzimut-15
NumPad-1=stepAzimut-30
NumPad-9=stepAzimut5
NumPad-6=stepAzimut15
NumPad-3=stepAzimut30

[MouseXYZ]
F1=SpeedSlow
F2=SpeedNormal
F3=SpeedFast
MouseRight=XYmove
F4 MouseRight=Zmove
MouseMiddle=Amove
F5 MouseRight=Amove
F6 MouseRight=Tmove
F7 MouseRight=Kmove

[MouseXYZ Config]
RealTime=1

[HotKey Console]
Shift Tab=Activate
[Console]
HISTORY=1024
HISTORYCMD=1024
LOAD=console.cmd
SAVE=console.cmd
LOG=1
LOGTIME=1
LOGFILE=log.lst
LOGKEEP=0

[sound]
SoundUse=1
SoundEngine=1
Speakers=1
Placement=0
SoundFlags.reversestereo=0
RadioFlags.Enabled=1
RadioEngine=2
MusicVolume=8
ObjectVolume=14
MusState.takeoff=1
MusState.inflight=1
MusState.crash=1
MusFlags.play=1
MasterVolume=14
Attenuation=5
SoundMode=1
SamplingRate=1
NumChannels=3
SoundExt.occlusions=0
SoundFlags.hardware=1
SoundFlags.streams=1
SoundFlags.duplex=1
SoundExt.acoustics=0
SoundExt.volumefx=0
SoundFlags.voicemgr=0
SoundFlags.static=1
VoiceVolume=12
Channels=2
SoundExt.extrender=0
SoundFlags.bugscorrect=0
SoundSetupId=8
ActivationLevel=0.02
Preemphasis=0.85
RadioLatency=0.5
AGC=1
PTTMode=1
SoundFlags.UseRadioChatter=0
SoundFlags.AutoActivation=0
RadioFlags.PTTMode=0
RadioFlags.PlayClicks=0
ActLevel=0
MicLevel=0
SoundFlags.forceEAX1=0

[rts]
;ProcessAffinityMask=1
mouseUse=2
joyUse=1
trackIRUse=1
DisableIME=0
locale=
UseSmartAxis=0
JoyProfile=0

[rts_mouse]
SensitivityX=1.0
SensitivityY=1.0
Invert=0
SensitivityZ=1.0

[rts_joystick]
X=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Y=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100
RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
FF=0
U=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
V=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1X=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0 0
1Y=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0 0
1Z=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 0
1RZ=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 0

[Render_DirectX]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=2
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=0
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=0
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=0
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=0
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

HardwareShaders=0

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=0
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=15
ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0
Water=1
Effects=1

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=0
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=0
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=0
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=0
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=1
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=1
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=0

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=3
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=3
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=17
Water=2
Effects=2
ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.0625
PolygonOffsetUnits=-1.0

[DGen]
HistoricalRanks=1
CampaignLength=Medium
[Mods]
RandomSplash=1
netCallsign=

screenshot from Hawaii map.


Logged

Zoran395

  • Mapper
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 355
Re: Noob asking about HD textures
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2016, 02:22:33 AM »

I would put Slovakia under the good looking maps.

For your conf.ini check reply 5 of this link: http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,9756.msg102914.html#msg102914
I have these settings in my game when I fly (mid range PC built last year, decent graphic card, FPS around 60 in CUP, good enough for me).

Back to maps, not all are equal as you have found out ... Actually the very reason I started tweaking maps and eventually started my own(s): I cannot fly using a map that looks like ....hem... I do not like either zig-zag roads so all my roads or rail are handmade. Same goes with airfields, town layout and so forth.
Another thing is flying at midday on the 21st of June 1941 with no clouds at all looks bad for pretty much all maps. Early morning, late afternoon, big clouds, some kind of hazy atmosphere makes it look so much better. In the case of Leningrad as you go towards winter the sun lowers on the horizon, giving you some very nice shading. No such thing in Hawaii!
Having said that I think Rabaul 1944 is in CUP? This one: http://www.sas1946.com/main/?topic=39938.0.
Great textures and some curved roads too!

For VP Pack, it is a separate install from CUP, you can give it a go (if you are keen on the downloads...).
Most of us have multiple installs of IL-2. For example I use:
- "IL-2 Test CUP" for all my flying to test my map creations.
- "IL-2 MMK" my custom 4.12 SAS lightweight install for map making (MMK!)
- "IL-2 DGEN Pack 1.1" This is another mod based on 4.13, very soviet centric, me likes! I use it for the testing of files for a particular campaign generator.
- "IL-2 VP Pack" the VP Media version, also based on 4.12. I do not fly it much but his quick missions for the Stalingrad (Cyberolas) map are visually fabulous!!
- Others I do not even use ...
All installs are in separate folders, each with their own shortcuts on the desktop.
Logged

SGT68

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 320
Re: Noob asking about HD textures
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2016, 04:32:06 AM »

screenshot from Hawaii map.

Your conf.ini looks ok. The Hawaii shot is pretty good. I would now go into Nvidia Control Panel and set up a custom profile for il2fb.exe.  Experiment til you find a setting you happy with. And the lovely thing about NCPanel is that if you set up multiple installs of IL2 it will apply your settings to all the executables
Logged
"A day without slaughter is like a day without sunshine" ..Marcus Kincaid

Baja

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Noob asking about HD textures
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2016, 05:36:19 AM »

Thanks for your responses, peeps. Really appreciated.

I think I'm getting somewhere with this now. I don't think I was getting the 1K textures before, but something's changed, and now I am. I think everything's maxed out, and it looks a lot better. However, tried a campaign last night, to find my fps was a little low - got some stutters when in a dogfight with multiple aircraft on-screen. So will have to reduce the quality a little. Is there a way of getting the fps to show on-screen? Can't see it in the options, so is there a mod or 3rd party software I can use?

I only used Hawaii as an example as it has some sea, sand and forest all close to each other. I'll try Rabaul, once I get the hang of the FMB. So far I've only been using the QMB, and obviously limited by the amount of maps available. Tried the FMB, couldn't see all the maps as there are too many in CUP, but managed to load up Stalingrad, but didn't put anything else on there, so ended up sitting in a void or another dimension! I've found the guide to using it, so will experiment again, with Stalingrad and Rabaul.

At the moment, I'm not interested in multiple installs for modding and testing - I just want to get my game up to the best I can get so I can get out there and fly some awesome machines. And I don't have Nvidia control panel as I have an AMD Radeon HD7750.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.014 seconds with 25 queries.