Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8   Go Down

Author Topic: Data Integrity Tool for DCG v0.26 (hotfix)  (Read 9772 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sniperton

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1006
Re: Data Integrity Tool for DCG v0.25 (beta)
« Reply #36 on: June 10, 2016, 09:45:42 AM »

Pandacat this is why DCG, PAL Mission Pro + DIT+ WAW Weapons Mod is so powerful.

snipertion's WAW Mod - fixes all the weapons in CUP, PAL Mission Pro allows you to change weapons on every aircraft prior to mission launch, thanks to DIT - DCG will recognize the weapon and the logfile will not blowup :).

I don't use Mission Pro, so I don't know what happens when you change a loadout ingame to one unrecognized by DCG; possibly nothing, as all this happens outside DCG, but the next mission will be generated with the previous loadout, won't it?
Logged

Gubi

  • Flying Ass Clown #34
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 670
Re: Data Integrity Tool for DCG v0.25 (beta)
« Reply #37 on: June 10, 2016, 01:09:38 PM »

Two questions Gentlemen:  In DCG, is "range", absolute range or is it "radius"?  #2:  Once range is set, is it considered with or without droptanks, if they are available.  Do drop tanks, increase the set "range"?

Cheers and wonderful tool.

Gubi
Logged
I am a moron.

Gubi

  • Flying Ass Clown #34
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 670
Re: Data Integrity Tool for DCG v0.25 (beta)
« Reply #38 on: June 10, 2016, 02:05:35 PM »

A second mini discussion:  I am setting "altitude" at 0.5xthe published ceiling.  I believe DCG will operate the aircraft "up to" the "altitude", or does it always have them operating at that altitude?  For IL-2 purposes, I'm wondering if I should set "altitude" at 0.33-0.40xpublished ceiling.  Any thoughts?

Cheers
Gubi
Logged
I am a moron.

sniperton

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1006
Re: Data Integrity Tool for DCG v0.25 (beta)
« Reply #39 on: June 10, 2016, 04:01:52 PM »

Range is, I think, radius in DCG (without droptanks). Default is 300 kms. Droptanks definitely increase range, but only Paul knows how much. Honestly, these are questions you should put Lowengrin; I've never seen one single line of code of DCG.
Logged

Gubi

  • Flying Ass Clown #34
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 670
Re: Data Integrity Tool for DCG v0.25 (beta)
« Reply #40 on: June 10, 2016, 04:21:41 PM »

Loving your tool.  The scientist in me, has me, researching each and every aircraft, for their "specific" capabilities.  I'm a nut.

That notwithstanding, I have assumed range to be "radius" and, for now, am using 50% of ceiling, and assume the aircraft will operate "up to" that altitude...seeing range maxed at 600km...it's good enough for IL-2, but I'll have to proof my assumption for altitude.  Unless, I have a published "cruising" speed, I am using 0.8xmax speed, for multiplace a/c and 0.85xmax speed for single seaters.  "Ingress" speed, I am assuming to be 0.95xmax speed.

Again, Bravo, for such a tool.

Cheers
Gubi
Logged
I am a moron.

sniperton

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1006
Re: Data Integrity Tool for DCG v0.25 (beta)
« Reply #41 on: June 10, 2016, 04:39:20 PM »

No, default radius is 300 km only if you don't enter any value (or you leave it at zero); if you enter 30, it will be 30; if you enter 600, it will be 600. DCG doesn't know about actual aircraft ranges, actual mission range depends on the value you set. It is used to set effective range: planes won't fly beyond that distance, as simple as that.
As to droptanks, ask JG7_X_Man, he has fiddled quite a lot with long range missions with droptanks.
As to altitudes, I'm pretty sure DCG will use the value you enter as a flight altitide for that plane. So if you set 12 000, planes will climb to 12 000 (if they can), and will be flying there until their misson is finished.
Logged

Gubi

  • Flying Ass Clown #34
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 670
Re: Data Integrity Tool for DCG v0.25 (beta)
« Reply #42 on: June 10, 2016, 04:47:05 PM »

Very good, and understood.  I am setting ranges (radii), individually.  For playability then, I think I will set " altitude to 0.33xPublished ceiling.  My experience with the clowns, indicates that most missions, by time alone, will not allow the capability to climb above, say, 3-4000meters, and engage.  I will fiddle with altitude.

Again, thanx and cheers
Gubi
Logged
I am a moron.

JG7_X_Man

  • Missioneer
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 276
Re: Data Integrity Tool for DCG v0.25 (beta)
« Reply #43 on: June 10, 2016, 04:49:30 PM »

Pandacat this is why DCG, PAL Mission Pro + DIT+ WAW Weapons Mod is so powerful.

snipertion's WAW Mod - fixes all the weapons in CUP, PAL Mission Pro allows you to change weapons on every aircraft prior to mission launch, thanks to DIT - DCG will recognize the weapon and the logfile will not blowup :).

I don't use Mission Pro, so I don't know what happens when you change a loadout ingame to one unrecognized by DCG; possibly nothing, as all this happens outside DCG, but the next mission will be generated with the previous loadout, won't it?

Yes. The in game change is a 1 time thing.
Logged

sniperton

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1006
Re: Data Integrity Tool for DCG v0.25 (beta)
« Reply #44 on: June 10, 2016, 05:00:01 PM »

For playability then, I think I will set " altitude to 0.33xPublished ceiling.

Just to make clear: ceiling is the maximum flight altitude possible for a given plane, while transit altitude is the typical operating altitude for a given plane in the given scenario. Something like top speed and cruise speed. Sturmoviks could climb well above 5000 but were mainly used below 2000.
Logged

JG7_X_Man

  • Missioneer
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 276
Re: Data Integrity Tool for DCG v0.25 (beta)
« Reply #45 on: June 10, 2016, 05:29:34 PM »

No, default radius is 300 km only if you don't enter any value (or you leave it at zero); if you enter 30, it will be 30; if you enter 600, it will be 600. DCG doesn't know about actual aircraft ranges, actual mission range depends on the value you set. It is used to set effective range: planes won't fly beyond that distance, as simple as that.
As to droptanks, ask JG7_X_Man, he has fiddled quite a lot with long range missions with droptanks.
As to altitudes, I'm pretty sure DCG will use the value you enter as a flight altitide for that plane. So if you set 12 000, planes will climb to 12 000 (if they can), and will be flying there until their misson is finished.

Gubi - When DCG generates a level bombing mission for a unit, it looks for a fighter unit to escort the bombers (usually a fighter unit based closest to the bomber's base). If the fighter's range is less than what is required to complete the mission, DCG checks to see if there is an entry in the Long Range (Fighter) Payload in the aircraft Information - if there is one, that is the loadout DCG will use generate the mission. Note: if there isn't a fighter unit that meets this criteria close to the bomber's airfield - the bomber unit will be flying the mission without escort.

DCG will not calculate the range of the mission and determine which loadout in the Long Range (Fighter) Payload class to choose. For that functionality, DCG wouldn't be free. :)

Sniperton - In the Range drop down in the Aircraft Information module in DCG goes from 50KM - 1000KM, your tool maxes out at 600KM - or did I miss something?
Logged

Gubi

  • Flying Ass Clown #34
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 670
Re: Data Integrity Tool for DCG v0.25 (beta)
« Reply #46 on: June 10, 2016, 05:39:20 PM »

Gentlemen, thanks for the interest.  Yes, I am making assumptions for specific types and their operating altitude.  I'm just concerned, primarily for the "level bombers", to not have them operate too high.   But, "too low", sucks too.  On the SAS server, we have a couple of "historically, realistic" missions with enemy bombers approaching at 6000m...you should hear the groans, from the Clowns.  I'm not quite convinced IL=2 FMs handle altitude as well as they might.  I'm probably wrong, but "time", becomes such a factor then.  Yes, 600km is the max range allowed in the tool, and as I mentioned, I think that's probably, pretty good, as much more than that and we then have the same issue as too much altitude.  Just my two cents.

Cheers everyone
Gubi
Logged
I am a moron.

JG7_X_Man

  • Missioneer
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 276
Re: Data Integrity Tool for DCG v0.25 (beta)
« Reply #47 on: June 10, 2016, 06:04:49 PM »

Gubi - Not sure what bombers you have in your mission, but B-17s and B-24 operated at 7600M (25,000 ft). Question though - who are the Clowns? :)
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.014 seconds with 25 queries.