Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 ... 187   Go Down

Author Topic: VP Modpack  (Read 235594 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PA_Willy

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 751
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #720 on: September 25, 2016, 01:24:08 AM »

You can have as many high res mods as you want, when the GPU's memory is filled up with textures all the way, the GPU driver has the choice to either crash your game or lock it up.

No. When VRAM is filled up, if new textures are needed, they will go to RAM. The problem then, will be the speed. VRAM is faster (a lot of) than RAM.
Logged

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6308
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #721 on: September 25, 2016, 01:38:25 AM »

100% freeze was reported and is caused by DaveB's Tigers FlyBy mod version and a plane which wasnt added to it (D.520 in this case). Check that topic for updates.

About cockpit sizes:

Stock cockpit size limit was 8 Mb, despite that I had 200+Mb cockpits running fine, only problem was the 20-40fps drop which they caused. In my modpack 95% of the cockpits are below 50Mb, which is optimal.

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18161
  • Failure is not an option.
    • What goes around comes around, you'll see
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #722 on: September 25, 2016, 01:59:17 AM »

No. When VRAM is filled up, if new textures are needed, they will go to RAM. The problem then, will be the speed. VRAM is faster (a lot of) than RAM.
No sir.
Only integrated graphics solutions generally use shared memory.
Some very weak GPUs have the ability to share memory with windows OS, but this equals a full stop if it's ever been used in a 3D game.
Contemporary GPUs with dedicated RAM do not share texture memory with the OS, the bandwidth would not remotely be sufficient to provide anything beyond 0.00x FPS when you'd need to page gigabytes of textures.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
You've got no one to follow, and no one will follow you. Ain't that a relief?

PA_Willy

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 751
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #723 on: September 25, 2016, 02:33:02 AM »

No. When VRAM is filled up, if new textures are needed, they will go to RAM. The problem then, will be the speed. VRAM is faster (a lot of) than RAM.
No sir.
Only integrated graphics solutions generally use shared memory.
Some very weak GPUs have the ability to share memory with windows OS, but this equals a full stop if it's ever been used in a 3D game.
Contemporary GPUs with dedicated RAM do not share texture memory with the OS, the bandwidth would not remotely be sufficient to provide anything beyond 0.00x FPS when you'd need to page gigabytes of textures.

Best regards - Mike

You said than when VRAM is filled up, game would crash or lock it up. No, speed of game will drop a lot (bandwitch speed), but, game is not going to crash because this. If VRAM is filled up and a new texture is loaded, the only way to do it is through RAM. The other way, is deleting space in VRAM (overwriting) with new textures or information. The result would be to lose information in game, for example, textures disappearing or similar.

Sorry because my bad English.
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18161
  • Failure is not an option.
    • What goes around comes around, you'll see
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #724 on: September 25, 2016, 02:50:24 AM »

Okay, I'm not going to talk this to death.
As a matter of fact, decent dedicated GPUs don't support paging textures to RAM (since it doesn't make sense) and the result from filling the RAM completely with textures depends on the game's architecture then. Sure, a game could proceed when loading a texture fails, IL-2 doesn't.
Believe it or not, I'm not preaching this, just saying.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
You've got no one to follow, and no one will follow you. Ain't that a relief?

Uufflakke

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2078
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #725 on: September 25, 2016, 05:37:32 AM »

Two questions in relation to screenshots:

A. How do I get them as .jpg instead of .tga?
(this old mod did not work by the way: http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php?topic=38.0 )

B. With Reshade/SweetFX enabled in game screenshots are still default. How to change that?
Logged
"The Best Things In Live Aren't Things"

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6308
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #726 on: September 25, 2016, 06:05:40 AM »

Two questions in relation to screenshots:
How do I get them as .jpg instead of .tga?

Disable #SAS\TGA screenshot to get jpg screens.

I'm not using Reshade/SweetFX, so I cant help you with it.

Uufflakke

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2078
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #727 on: September 25, 2016, 06:26:14 AM »

Two questions in relation to screenshots:
How do I get them as .jpg instead of .tga?

Disable #SAS\TGA screenshot to get jpg screens.

I'm not using Reshade/SweetFX, so I cant help you with it.

Thanks for the speedy answer. Now I have .jpg screenies again.
I will ask in the Reshade thread assistance for that particular issue.
Logged
"The Best Things In Live Aren't Things"

spartan18a

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 675
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #728 on: September 25, 2016, 11:24:16 AM »

Dear VP,

Could you please add this map to the VP? The Marshall Islands 42. I am working on a mini campaign called: Early Raids in the Pacific Ocean



Logged
Winning is optional, but trying your best is not.

Wolfskid

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #729 on: September 25, 2016, 01:04:33 PM »

Hello guys and hello vpmedia.
A huge thank you for your hard work all these years. It is a WONDERFUL Modpack :)

But i have a little problem with it... ::(
So....
The instalation was very EASY and with no ERRORS... All works fine, one part unfortunately not :(

It is the part of the Tracers...I see NO tracers :(

I can see the smoketrails but NO tracers o_O

My question :
someone had the same problem and solved it?
And if so, how did you solved it ?

Thanks a lot for the answers and help..

KR

Wolfskid
Logged

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6308
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #730 on: September 25, 2016, 01:41:53 PM »

did you add the conf.ini entries?

Wolfskid

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #731 on: September 25, 2016, 04:13:09 PM »

yeah, yes, GREAAAAT :) :) :) ;D ;D ;D...


I have yet totally overlooked in my excited unit again to fly IL46  :-X :-| ;)......Thank you VERY MUCH VP.

Now works ALL fine for me. And this with this old SIM. :)


It is always a joy to the mods to fly :)

Thanks again VP and have a good time...

kr

Wolfskid
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 ... 187   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.018 seconds with 28 queries.