Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 4 [5] 6   Go Down

Author Topic: Gilbert_Marshall_Islands Map  (Read 8948 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

NavyAce

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Re: Gilbert_Marshall_Islands Map
« Reply #48 on: April 20, 2016, 09:07:57 PM »

Hi Dennis,
       I ran the Universal_static.ini_checker.ini program and I believe I did it right, although I had a bit of a problem getting the pathway straight and I never did find it in any program folder. But through trial and error I managed to click Missing Objects under the Search tab, and this is what it gave me. I can't seem to copy and paste so I will have to do this manually.

Name                    Type
actors.static           STATIC File
ed_m01.tga           TGA File
ed_m02.tga           TGA File
ed_m03.tga           TGA File
labels.txt               Text Document
load.ini                  Configuration set...
map_c.tga             TGA File
map_c.tga_ta...     TGA_TABLE File
map_f.tga             TGA File
map_h.tga            TGA File
map_T.tga            TGA File
old map_T.tga       TGA File
texts.txt                Text Document

Across the top there is a line that reads "Select mod maps file of type (insert name of file) to examine, and each file has a Date Modified. At the bottom of the box there are two buttons, Close and OK. Is there a way to click something and automatically have all of the missing files go where they are supposed to go? If I highlight one, say the actors.static, and click OK I get a box saying Select static.ini manually with an OK button at the bottom. I didn't do that as I wanted to run this by you first to see if you think I'm on the right track, and how I should go about installing the files from the missing file list. I do believe we are making progress!
                                                                                  Wayne


 
Logged

dpeters95

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 442
Re: Gilbert_Marshall_Islands Map
« Reply #49 on: April 20, 2016, 09:54:27 PM »

Wayne,
     Nope, that is not the list of missing objects.  That is just a list of files in my map folder.  In order for the Univ. Static.ini checker to work, you must find the static.ini file in your install so it can compare it to the actors.static file I have in my map folder!
   
     Run the Univ. Static.ini checker and click on "Search" then "Missing Objects".  It will then ask for the "actors.static" file in my Gilbert-Marshall Islands map folder.  Then it will ask for you to find the "static.ini" file in your IL2 installation.  It will then list any missing objects...

Dennis
Logged

bergkamp

  • If you can't find it here, it doesn't exist
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 356
Re: Gilbert_Marshall_Islands Map
« Reply #50 on: April 21, 2016, 03:25:22 AM »

I have not been around for a while and am not at my main pc. In my concise instructions at my reply #40, within the links to the downloads, I provided a static ini, which together with my instructions to set up this map, will provide all the missing objects required.

Navy, at the moment, unless somebody else has a solution, until you start over with a MA530 install (not some other mod activator pack - nothing against them), you will continue to go round in ever decreasing circles.
Logged

dpeters95

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 442
Re: Gilbert_Marshall_Islands Map
« Reply #51 on: April 21, 2016, 02:35:57 PM »

Wayne,
   Agree with Bergkamp above.  Even if you get the Univ. Static.ini program figured out, we will still have to supply you with what you are missing and you will have to add it all correctly to have it work.  You may have a hard time with this approach.

   If you want to keep 412 and Modact v5.3 follow the step by step instructions in Reply #40.  That will solve your problem.  No installing or de-Installing add-on's to worry about.  I think starting with a clean slate will be your best bet!
Logged

SAS~Tom2

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7957
  • no sweat
Re: Gilbert_Marshall_Islands Map
« Reply #52 on: April 22, 2016, 04:48:18 PM »

I would assume the answer given here in post 1 will also help guys with maps in 4.12 MA 5.3

http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,35419.0.html

And replies 10 and 53.
--

Since I miss a list of static.ini entries in reply 40, I see no sense in the latter. :-| :-[ :D
Logged

dpeters95

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 442
Re: Gilbert_Marshall_Islands Map
« Reply #53 on: May 04, 2016, 09:41:20 AM »

Just thought I would post an update to the problems that Navyace was having with his 412 Modact install and the map.  He has followed the advice Bergkamp posted in Reply #40 in this thread and all is now working!  So, if anyone else is having a similar problem with that IL2 version/map, the information in Reply #40 should fix the problem.  Thanks to all that tried to help!

I also want to post a big thank you to Bergkamp for all his additional help in this matter!

Dennis
Logged

max_thehitman

  • SAS~Area51
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9009
  • Beer...Girls...IL2+Mods!
Re: Gilbert_Marshall_Islands Map
« Reply #54 on: May 04, 2016, 10:09:56 AM »


HURRAY! for the new update and upgrade to this fine map!

THANK YOU !  8)
Logged
Everything I like is either illegal, immoral or fattening ! Welcome to SAS1946

bergkamp

  • If you can't find it here, it doesn't exist
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 356
Re: Gilbert_Marshall_Islands Map
« Reply #55 on: May 04, 2016, 10:45:03 AM »

Just thought I would post an update to the problems that Navyace was having with his 412 Modact install and the map.  He has followed the advice Bergkamp posted in Reply #40 in this thread and all is now working!  So, if anyone else is having a similar problem with that IL2 version/map, the information in Reply #40 should fix the problem.  Thanks to all that tried to help!

I also want to post a big thank you to Bergkamp for all his additional help in this matter!

Dennis

Thanks, Dennis. Glad I was able to help Navy. Can I just say that this map works perfectly ,without problems, in VPMedia's modpack, CUP and TFM 412. Navy is new to the game and didn't yet want any of the large modpacks, so I just set him up with a 4.12.2 with ma 5.3 install and the missing textures and static entries to make this map work for him.

 
Logged

-)-MAILMAN-

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 88
Re: Gilbert_Marshall_Islands Map
« Reply #56 on: April 17, 2019, 10:16:23 PM »

I have had DaveOD06's The Marshall Islands v0.2 installed and working for more than a year in my HSFX 7.0.3 installation & 4.13.4m with a mod activator.  I have created a few missions with this map and they work.  There is an airfield under construction and a couple of piers at Kwajalein.

I installed your Gilbert_Marshall_Islands map tonight.  It loads and I can create, save and run missons just fine.

What I did notice is that there is no airfield nor any piers on Kwajalein.  Is this by design, omission or have I missed something?

Thanks
Logged
@={==MAILMAN==> "All for one and one for all."

dpeters95

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 442
Re: Gilbert_Marshall_Islands Map
« Reply #57 on: June 04, 2019, 05:36:15 PM »

Mailman, sorry it took a bit to respond I didn't notice this question until tonight for some reason...

There is an airfield in the North of Kwajalein Atoll (Roi-Namur Airfield) and a Seaplane Base (Ebeye Island) on the Eastern side.  However, for some reason I did not place Bucholz Army Airfield on the Southern tip.  It's been so long since I made this map that, to be honest, I don't know why I didn't.  Sorry about that.
Logged

-)-MAILMAN-

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 88
Re: Gilbert_Marshall_Islands Map
« Reply #58 on: June 07, 2019, 03:26:03 PM »

No worries, everyone is busy and have lives away from Sims and thank you for replying

My questions wasn't because I was looking for another operating airfield, but rather a target area where TBD's performed unescorted level bombing of Kwajalein and it's anchorage.  I have created a mission to recreate Halsey's  Enterpise attack of the Marshall Islands in Feb. '42 on DaveOD06's map, but due to it's limited map area I could not include the simultaneous Fletcher's Yorktown attack of Makin & Southern Marshalls.  This isn't a complaint, just a fact of the map maker wanted it this way.

Your map made the mission possible to have the two missions run simultaneously which was historical.  The only compromise is not being able to place Enterprise in its historical position further north than the limit of your map as I could with DaveOD06's map.  Again not a complaint.

Your map is one of the few maps where I can use the A5M for the time frame of which I am interested along with Lonestar's Coral Sea expanded where I can historically place an IJN CVL representing Shoho with its A5M's.

Thank you for the wonderful map.



Logged
@={==MAILMAN==> "All for one and one for all."

dpeters95

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 442
Re: Gilbert_Marshall_Islands Map
« Reply #59 on: June 13, 2019, 08:09:36 AM »

Thank you for the kind words!  Yeah, when I started building the map I wanted to include more of that Northern area but I just couldn't do it and maintain the 1/2 scale.  The problem is that as the scale gets smaller so do the land masses.  I couldn't fit runways on the islands because they weren't long enough for takeoff and landing!  The Marshall Islands map by DaveOD06 is 1:1 I believe and it is ideal for what he wanted to build.  I didn't want to duplicate what he did so my idea was to try and get as much of both the Island chains on one map as possible.  It turned out to be a much bigger area than I originally thought!

If you post your mission for download, please let me know I would love to check it out!
Dennis
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 4 [5] 6   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.013 seconds with 27 queries.