Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Dead.sim and object not 'dying'  (Read 11504 times)

tomoose

• Modder
  • Iiiiiiiit's ME! Hurrah!!
    • 71 "Eagle" Squadron
Dead.sim and object not 'dying'
« on: February 13, 2016, 02:10:17 PM »

Some of you may be aware I've created a few objects for the game.  Having said that, I'm still learning.  Perhaps someone answered this and I just didn't see it but I can't seem to "destroy" my objects.
For example:

My fuel bowser.  I created a 'Live.sim' object and a 'Dead.sim' object.  I placed the bowser on a runway, spawned a B25 as the player aircraft and using the turret fired at the bowser.
No reaction at all.  The bullets seemed to pass right through it.  No explosion and no switching to the 'dead' object.

I've been told it may be something to do with 'hit boxes' but I have no idea what they are and how I incorporate them into my 3D model in 3dsMax. 

Any help/instruction/info is definitely appreciated.

Thanks.

western0221

• Modder
  • Live in Japan
    • IL-2 itaki blog
Re: Dead.sim and object not 'dying'
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2016, 03:01:37 PM »

Hi tomoose.

I answer you about your question in PM, please check your PM box.

SAS~Malone

• flying as #46 with the FAC
  • Editor
  • proud member of that 'other' site
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2016, 11:45:11 PM »

i have a similar question, relating to a him file, rather than a sim, though...
currently i'm working on adding crew to the U-boats, and although many of them that i'm using do have a 'dead' version, i don't know (or even if it's possible) to make individual crew 'die' - so, for instance, if i strafe a U-boat and hit some crew, is it possible to have those crew switch to a 'dead' version, or not?
i might continue this in a superschool thread, depending on the replies... ;)
.....taking fun seriously since 1968.....  8)

western0221