Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 ... 11   Go Down

Author Topic: IL-2 Random Skies Mod v2.7 ~NEW VERSION~  (Read 35780 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

whistler

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1702
Re: Random Skies Mod v1.0c (30-Jan-2016)
« Reply #36 on: January 30, 2016, 04:51:45 AM »

Very small update in v1.0c. Added to the context menu the option: "Reset QMB last.quick"

benitomuso's Quick Mission Pro prevents the freezes in QMB but sometimes when switching game types / modules it is safer to reset first the last.quick. A more permanent solution has been posted recently for CUP and non-CUP users by SAS~Monty27:

http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,50185.msg547732.html

Since the solution above prevents last.quick from saving the last mission, and the last.quick otherwise has to be deleted manually, I found convenient to have the option added to the Launcher.

First post updated. If you have any issue, please install everything from scratch.

Happy flying  :)
Logged
NG-HUD v3.2 | NG-MAP v3.0 | NG-CAM v1.6: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/board,93.0.html

SAS~Malone

  • flying as #46 with the FAC
  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14425
  • proud member of that 'other' site
Re: Random Skies Mod v1.0c (30-Jan-2016)
« Reply #37 on: February 24, 2016, 10:43:55 AM »

hi whistler
i need to ask about v1.0c update -  Added to the context menu the option: "Reset QMB last.quick"
which context menu are you referring to here?
when i run the launcher, it looks exactly the same as the previous version, so visibly i don't see any 'reset QMB' option.
i must admit all the recent 'fixes' for this last.quick problem have not helped me at all yet - each time i change a module, i still have to go in and physically delete the last.quick file - i was wanting to test how this feature works, but i don't know where/how to use it, as i don't see the option anywhere...?
thanks in advance for any assist... ;)
Logged
.....taking fun seriously since 1968.....  8)

SAS~Malone

  • flying as #46 with the FAC
  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14425
  • proud member of that 'other' site
Re: Random Skies Mod v1.0c (30-Jan-2016)
« Reply #38 on: February 24, 2016, 11:40:58 AM »

lo and behold, just after i post about not being able to get the fix working, it now appears to be sorted out.
i've just changed all modules of CUP, and it loaded up properly into QMB each time. happy days!
still, my question remains on where this 'context menu' option is... ;)
Logged
.....taking fun seriously since 1968.....  8)

Korrigan

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 708
Re: Random Skies Mod v1.0c (30-Jan-2016)
« Reply #39 on: February 24, 2016, 11:43:40 AM »

Malone, you need to right click anywhere in the launcher window to see the context menu  ;)
Logged

SAS~Malone

  • flying as #46 with the FAC
  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14425
  • proud member of that 'other' site
Re: Random Skies Mod v1.0c (30-Jan-2016)
« Reply #40 on: February 24, 2016, 12:51:50 PM »

hmm...that was the first thing i tried, and i'm sure i saw nothing.
hold on, let me just try again...
ah, okay, i see it now.
when i tried it the first time, i right-clicked while the mouse was over the 'GO!' button, and the context menu doesn't appear there....my bad, all good now, thanks :D
Logged
.....taking fun seriously since 1968.....  8)

spartan18a

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 675
Re: Random Skies Mod v1.0c (30-Jan-2016)
« Reply #41 on: October 04, 2016, 12:34:08 PM »

Just a question, If I have installed it in VP and now I want to play a campaign with the weather/sky chosen by the creator of the campaign, what should I choose in the Random Skies menu?
Logged
Winning is optional, but trying your best is not.

whistler

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1702
Re: Random Skies Mod v1.0c (30-Jan-2016)
« Reply #42 on: October 05, 2016, 01:27:28 PM »

Hi spartan18a

About VP Modpack and Random Skies:

Random Skies works with the majority of the maps included in the VP Modpack. VP kept the default Clouds256.tga skies in most of the maps but he used other sky textures in some cases (in example vp_clouds02b.tga for Slovakia Winter). The sky texture to be loaded is coded into the map load.ini and changing the skies in these maps cannot be (easily) automated.

Now back to your question, you will always get the weather*/sky texture coded into the map load.ini, independently of missions or campaigns. Using the example above, every time you play Slovakia Winter you will always get the vp_clouds02b.tga texture, independently of how you run Random Skies.

On the contrary, you can use Random Skies to alter the skies in any map that uses the Clouds256.tga texture (most of the maps in VP Modpack). Select 'Stock' to use the default IL-2 sky texture.

*Random Skies does not alter weather, only (high) sky textures

Hope it helps
Logged
NG-HUD v3.2 | NG-MAP v3.0 | NG-CAM v1.6: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/board,93.0.html

spartan18a

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 675
Re: Random Skies Mod v1.0c (30-Jan-2016)
« Reply #43 on: October 06, 2016, 09:16:26 AM »

Thank you whistler. A very thorough explanation that it's crystal clear now.
By the way, I love your skies. Whenever I`m driving my car now, I can't stop looking at the high clouds and see how alike are to those of yous. A real masterpiece. Congrats!

Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk
Logged
Winning is optional, but trying your best is not.

whistler

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1702
Re: Random Skies Mod v1.0c (30-Jan-2016)
« Reply #44 on: October 06, 2016, 03:55:56 PM »

Let me stress that I have nothing to do with the sky textures! Please praise Thierry and Istvan, they are the true magicians and deserve all credit:

- tbauchot's New sky textures Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4 | Part 5
- vpmedia's Sky textures

Logged
NG-HUD v3.2 | NG-MAP v3.0 | NG-CAM v1.6: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/board,93.0.html

spartan18a

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 675
Re: Random Skies Mod v1.0c (30-Jan-2016)
« Reply #45 on: October 07, 2016, 12:12:27 AM »

So be it. Thanks to them too! :)

Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk

Logged
Winning is optional, but trying your best is not.

whistler

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1702
Re: Random Skies Mod v1.0d (24-Oct-2016)
« Reply #46 on: October 23, 2016, 04:47:13 PM »

Small update, version 1.0d is out!

I find myself adding and removing mods and changing modules more often than not and the last.quick bug is irritating. I needed a persistent but not permanent solution so I moved the QMB reset option to the main window.

I also found that when using C.U.P. I must always run the IL-2 Selector to know what game type I played last, now the executable reads the SAS selector's ini and informs what module is currently selected: Dawn of Flight, World at War, Modact... nice  :P

I hope you find these changes as useful as I do. First post updated. Folder and files structure remain the same, just download and overwrite previous versions.

Take care folks
Logged
NG-HUD v3.2 | NG-MAP v3.0 | NG-CAM v1.6: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/board,93.0.html

spartan18a

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 675
Re: Random Skies Mod v1.0d (24-Oct-2016)
« Reply #47 on: October 24, 2016, 11:51:35 AM »

So, you mean that this update is just for CUP or is it also for other ModPacks such as VP?
Eager to see updates :)

Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk

Logged
Winning is optional, but trying your best is not.
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 ... 11   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.014 seconds with 26 queries.