Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 ... 51   Go Down

Author Topic: Weekly progress report  (Read 121826 times)

DarkBlueBoy and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

max_thehitman

• SAS~Area51
  • Modder
  • Beer...Girls...IL2+Mods!
Re: Weekly progress report
« Reply #36 on: June 23, 2015, 05:19:04 AM »

I have been thinking of changing that code.

I often use a tool called UVMapper, which is very useful as you can load in an object and drag the UV coords around.

Do you want me to add that capability to the tool?

Hello again Stainlesss,
If you find this capability useful to you, it might also be useful to me and other skin-artists.
I have never tried it before.
Sounds interesting.

This little "Stainless UV_mapper" of yours , to me, is a real great program and very useful for my skin art.
It saves time on painting and knowing EXACTLY what to paint, for that skin to look its best in this game and on the 3d-model.

Skin textures in any game are very important part of what makes it appealing and look more realistic as possible.
Some 3d-models may have less polygons and some may look like "LEGO toys", but if the texture and paint on it is done properly,
it will look great. IL2-1946 is a very old game, but it still has a lot of potential.

Everything I like is either illegal, immoral or fattening ! Welcome to SAS1946

asheshouse

• SAS Team
« Reply #37 on: June 23, 2015, 09:18:30 AM »

Sounds like a very useful utility.

Stainless

« Reply #38 on: June 24, 2015, 02:39:50 AM »

The main use of this capability would be to allow you to add detail to particular parts of a mesh.

Say you want to add some kill marks below the cockpit, but the polygon in the mesh where you want to place them is tiny. You could drag the UV coordinates for that polygon around to give you more pixels to work with. You would then have to save the bitmap, AND the mesh, but it would work.