Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Sky textures  (Read 11060 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SAS~Bombsaway

  • Choose your battles wisely.
  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8798
  • A day without laughter is a day wasted
Re: Sky textures
« Reply #12 on: February 17, 2015, 07:54:20 AM »

Hi VP,

In this sense, I think that you should surely have too some tormented skies that lurking somewhere
in the back of a drawer ?  ;D

Thank you very much, downloaded !
Thierry.

That would be a nice addition. Some really stromy looking skies. :)
Logged
Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Uufflakke

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2078
Re: Sky textures
« Reply #13 on: February 17, 2015, 08:16:32 AM »

Just like a William Turner painting.  :D

[img]http://www.ibiblio.org/wm/paint/auth/turner/i/temeraire.jpg

Logged
"The Best Things In Live Aren't Things"

Alfie Noakes

  • Art Director
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2043
Re: Sky textures
« Reply #14 on: February 18, 2015, 11:45:27 PM »

Quote
That would be a nice addition. Some really stromy looking skies. :) 

+1 
Very much with you on that one Mick !

Quote
Just like a William Turner painting.  :D   

+1
Absolutely, Uufflakke.......but I'm simply not prepared to make screenshots in a crows nest lashed to the mast  :D :D :D

[img width=800 height=601]http://i1353.photobucket.com/albums/q668/alfienoakes2013/N00530_10%201_zps3m99d8ut.jpg

Cheers

Alfie
Logged
Everything is for the best in the best of all possible worlds

Mick

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4003
Re: Sky textures
« Reply #15 on: February 19, 2015, 03:47:27 AM »

There is an easy way of getting different high clouds for the same map:

1) Make different copies of the original load.ini of a map, modify and rename them

2) Rename the first line of the .mis files


ex for the MTO map:

MTO_load.ini (if this is the name of your original MTO load.ini)

Copy it and rename it for ex: MTO1_load.ini and change the two lines that will modify the high clouds, for ex hi_CloudsNoise for the first line and then vp_clouds01.tga (from VPmedia's mod) and of course put this new load.ini into your MTO folder.

Do the same if you want more different high clouds for your MTO map, for ex MTO2_load.ini, MTO3_load.ini etc ... and of course modify the two lines, for ex hi_CloudsNoise for the first line and then vp_clouds02.tga etc ...

And of course don't forget to modify the first line of your MTO campaign/missions .mis files (the one that tells the mission which map to load) according to your taste ...

This is rather time consuming but doesn't need a lot of space on your hard disk since the new load.inis will only be a few kilo octets since they are in text format ...  ;)
Logged

SAS~Poltava

  • Avid FMB user
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3160
  • Keep calm and carry on
    • Check out my modded campaigns
Re: Sky textures
« Reply #16 on: February 21, 2015, 12:58:01 PM »

Can't have too many of these lovely skies! Thanks Istvan! :)
Logged
My aim: to build campaigns for Mods! You can find them here: http://mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads3&file=search&sa=740

SAS~Tom2

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7957
  • no sweat
Re: Sky textures
« Reply #17 on: February 22, 2015, 05:47:32 AM »

Very good. Played with one a bit for MTO...WIP








Thanks Istvan!
Logged

benson

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 188
Re: Sky textures
« Reply #18 on: February 22, 2015, 10:50:25 AM »

Great work. Thank you.
Logged

<Gunny>

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1185
Re: Sky textures
« Reply #19 on: February 22, 2015, 09:32:17 PM »

This is really nice VP -Thanks.
Logged

David Prosser

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3036
Re: Sky textures
« Reply #20 on: February 22, 2015, 09:49:10 PM »

This mod is definitely an enhancement. I've had it a week or so, and I wouldn't be without it for DBW 1.71.
I'll try it for DBW1916 too later.

Uufflakke

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2078
Re: Sky textures
« Reply #21 on: February 26, 2015, 01:50:09 PM »

Or, quicker, have load.ini files with each type of cloud. Name them "load1.ini" "load2.ini" etc then simply change the file name to "load.ini" to activate the clouds you want.

One last option would be to have a bunch of maps from the original that each have different clouds. Example: The original map is called "Smolensk" and the new ones would be named "Smolensk1"; "Smolensk2"; etc. In the mission file, before starting the game, change the "MAP" line at the top of the .mis file. The greatest drawback with this option is the amount of room needed for all the maps!
Bob

Another quick solution is this:
Select a few high clouds you like most and add all their entries in the load.ini of a map.

[APPENDIX]
//HighClouds = sk_Clouds256.tga
//HighCloudsNoise = sk_CloudsNoise.tga

//HighClouds  = TB_e0.tga
//HighClouds  = TB_d1.tga
//HighClouds  = TB_e2.tga
//HighCloudsNoise  = CloudsNoise003.tga

//vp_clouds01.tga
//vp_clouds02.tga
vp_clouds03.tga
hi_CloudsNoise.tga

The one withouth the // prefix is the activated HighClouds texture. In case you want to have another texture first deactivate the current one by adding the // and remove the // from the one you want to see in game.
Then go to File and select Save.

Note: some highclouds do have other cloudsnoise textures, keep the ones that belong to each other grouped together.  ;)
Logged
"The Best Things In Live Aren't Things"

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6220
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: Sky textures
« Reply #22 on: March 14, 2015, 02:01:27 AM »

Update with 3 more textures:

http://ulozto.net/xbgFBVZw/vp-clouds2-7z



I use the one in the center as the default clouds layer (Clouds256.tga) which automatically replaces the clouds on most maps without ini editing. You can also replace the sk_Clouds256.tga and hi_Clouds256.tga and then you've basically changed the cloud layers on most maps without textfile editing.

Mick

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4003
Re: Sky textures
« Reply #23 on: March 14, 2015, 02:40:32 AM »

Many THX Istvan ...  :P
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.015 seconds with 25 queries.