Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: How to make RowOfTrees look like random trees ?  (Read 5122 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Uzin

  • Modder
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2391
  • On lifetime holidays
How to make RowOfTrees look like random trees ?
« on: November 30, 2014, 06:52:48 AM »

When placing random trees in files xxx.tree.tga , they look different from that placed as RowOfTrees objects. Does anybody know how to harmonize these trees , please ?
In the picture given below, there are AlteredBush9a.tga given in load.ini input  line:
"Tree0 = Trees\AlteredBush9a.tga"
with Perfect Landskape settings. Other  files were tried, too, but none of them was found resembling that of RowOfTrees ones. I do not know where to change their appearance.
Excuse me it this question was treated before, I overlooked it perhaps..

Logged

KiwiBiggles

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 525
Re: How to make RowOfTrees look like random trees ?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2014, 07:19:00 AM »

Hi Uzin,

If you select forest=3 in conf.ini, row of trees will appear similar to random trees, in-game.  The downside is that they're then invisible in map builder.  I'm not sure if that was your question, but it's how I do it anyway.

Cheers
KB
Logged

Uzin

  • Modder
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2391
  • On lifetime holidays
Re: How to make RowOfTrees look like random trees ?
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2014, 07:58:06 AM »

Hi Uzin,

If you select forest=3 in conf.ini, row of trees will appear similar to random trees, in-game.  The downside is that they're then invisible in map builder.  I'm not sure if that was your question, but it's how I do it anyway.

Cheers
KB
Thank you very much, KiwiBiggles, you solved my problem excellently.
I did not fiddle with conf.ini before, I am quite a noob.
Trees now look nice, uniformly,  I think:

Logged

SAS~Tom2

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7958
  • no sweat
Re: How to make RowOfTrees look like random trees ?
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2014, 09:18:12 AM »

This opens up new methods for "my" Slot mod as well, simply adding more palm trees or better: jungle trees there as by WhiteCat.

Good idea for bases and harbours. ;D
Logged

tbauchot

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 271
Re: How to make RowOfTrees look like random trees ?
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2014, 04:25:13 PM »

Hi Uzin,

If you select forest=3 in conf.ini, row of trees will appear similar to random trees, in-game.  The downside is that they're then invisible in map builder.  I'm not sure if that was your question, but it's how I do it anyway.

Cheers
KB

When you activate your "unlocked FMB" also turn on a "conf.ini" with the parameter : "Forest = 0". In this way you are able to see the "Raw of tree" in the "unlocked FMB" ... :)
Logged

Uzin

  • Modder
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2391
  • On lifetime holidays
Re: How to make RowOfTrees look like random trees ?
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2014, 03:39:43 AM »

Hi Uzin,

If you select forest=3 in conf.ini, row of trees will appear similar to random trees, in-game.  The downside is that they're then invisible in map builder.  I'm not sure if that was your question, but it's how I do it anyway.

Cheers
KB

When you activate your "unlocked FMB" also turn on a "conf.ini" with the parameter : "Forest = 0". In this way you are able to see the "Raw of tree" in the "unlocked FMB" ... :)
I see RowOfTrees in my unlocked FMB (aka MapBuilder) also with forest=2, but not the random trees given by xxx.tree.tga files. The problem was , that in "game FMB" (aka locked FMB) , where random trees are visible, the RowOfTrees were greyish, until the forest=3 helped there.
Logged

I/JG27_Seppel

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 133
Re: How to make RowOfTrees look like random trees ?
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2014, 02:50:26 PM »

I am quite a noob.

You're such a liar, Uzin!! :-D

But back to the Topic - I found, that also in the game the trees completly disappear with forrest=3 - at least in my Silesia map???
What's the Point?
Logged
Kleinigkeiten machen die Vollkommenheit aus, aber Vollkommenheit ist keine Kleinigkeit.

cyberolas

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 464
Re: How to make RowOfTrees look like random trees ?
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2014, 03:05:08 PM »

Mr. Uzin, I have recently talked about it with Mr.Magot from Daidalos team. They will prepare 3D object tree looked like Rawoftrees (sometime in future?). Now you have to use Rawoftrees choice in your unlock FMB like objects with question mark - like place, where will be trees, but not in exactly places - you maybe know this problem, I think, you have to have many experiences with map making.
Logged

Uzin

  • Modder
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2391
  • On lifetime holidays
Re: How to make RowOfTrees look like random trees ?
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2014, 03:36:31 PM »

Well, in my conf.ini I have the lines given below twice for some unknovn reason:

Sky=2
Forest=3
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

I had changed forest to 3 in both cases , then I observed the success as given in pictures above.
I believe that pictures are not liars, lol.  ;)

@Mr.cyberolas:
I am not sure that I understand you well: when I place RowOfTrees object somewhere , I find it there both in unlocked and in locked FMB. The random trees (those white dots in  xxx.tree.tga on the black background)  are invisible in Excellent Landscape setting, but clearly visible in Prefect Landscape setting.
Logged

Uzin

  • Modder
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2391
  • On lifetime holidays
Re: How to make RowOfTrees look like random trees ?
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2014, 04:43:19 PM »

@Seppel:
I tried your Silesia map at two different settings, here is what I have found:

1. forest=2, Excellent Landscape settings:



2. forest=3, Perfect Landscape settings:


It is obvious that the situation is more complicated than one could expect.
Perhaps some expert can help us ?
Logged

Bee

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 413
Re: How to make RowOfTrees look like random trees ?
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2014, 10:03:16 PM »

Be very careful not to have a single winter tree object anywhere on your map.  It will prevent any of the leafy trees showing at all.  Same goes for cloned winter trees with a retexture.
Logged

I/JG27_Seppel

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 133
Re: How to make RowOfTrees look like random trees ?
« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2014, 08:22:48 AM »

What the...??

No I'm totally confused.
I have my Settings like your first test forest=2 and Excellent (Highest step?)
So I HAVE the randum trees and the Row of Trees.

If I Switch to forest=3 the Row of trees disappear.
BUT this don't happen in the Frisia map!! :-D :-D

As you said Uzin, it's more difficult than expected.

Ah..and please note the changing in my last post - I did not ment your Pictures lie, but YOU when you call yourself a "noob".
In Germany we call such a guy "Tiefstapler"... :D
Logged
Kleinigkeiten machen die Vollkommenheit aus, aber Vollkommenheit ist keine Kleinigkeit.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.017 seconds with 25 queries.