Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 ... 24   Go Down

Author Topic: Visual MOD V9 (New Walking Pilot + Depth of Field + the rest)  (Read 133483 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SAS~Gerax

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4765
Re: Visual MOD V9 (New Walking Pilot + Depth of Field + the rest)
« Reply #120 on: April 09, 2015, 11:00:01 AM »

PO_MAK_249RIP, do a search for "font" and enable
"Search in topic subjects only".

With this I found this here:
https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,21658.msg235321.html#msg235321

read through this thread and follow the link:
http://www.allaircraftsimulations.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=10501&hilit=FONT
Logged
i7-13700K, MSI RTX4090, Kingston 64GB, Asus Z790-P, Crucial SSD 1TB, Kingston SSD 4TB;

PO_MAK_249RIP

  • CMON U SPURS!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2059
Re: Visual MOD V9 (New Walking Pilot + Depth of Field + the rest)
« Reply #121 on: April 10, 2015, 01:59:33 AM »

Hi mate - yep did all that just cant find the font that controls the aircraft labels? But i'll have another read I may have missed something

SOLVED I'll post how I did it incase any others want to do it too

https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php?topic=45684.msg510632#msg510632
Logged
Corsair Carbide case, Intel core i5 4690 3.5ghz with Arctic Cooler, Asus Rock H97 performance, MSI Ventus XS OC 1660GTX 6GB DDR6, 32GB Patriot Viper 1600Mhz, 256GB/500GB Crucial SSDs, Windows 10 64bit.

razanon

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Visual MOD V9 (New Walking Pilot + Depth of Field + the rest)
« Reply #122 on: April 24, 2015, 06:42:13 AM »

when i use visualmod 8 or 9. when im fliying get a ctd 6 dof track ir problem.

when i use game menu, ctd and same error
Logged

benitomuso

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2586
  • P.A.L.
Re: Visual MOD V9 (New Walking Pilot + Depth of Field + the rest)
« Reply #123 on: April 27, 2015, 04:48:55 AM »

benitomuso,

I installed this new version after you told me the issues from v8 were fixed (mainly the crashing due to bailouts).  I have several problems I encountered, it seems.

1) Like a few other people, the "PAL3DMaxMenuActors=64" item in conf.ini [Mods] section did not do anything, ground objects are still not selectable.
2) Once the pilot leaves the plane, all "view" controls stop working (Shift and Control F2, F3, F6, F8, etc.) so cannot scroll through other planes... also it takes away ability to shift pilot view to F8, making it easier to see where you are going.  (this used to not happen in v8)

I enjoy these features, if you can help me resolve these issues it would be awesome.  Thank you for your applications.

UberDemon/danzigzag

Regarding these questions:


1) Like a few other people, the "PAL3DMaxMenuActors=64" item in conf.ini [Mods] section did not do anything, ground objects are still not selectable.

This line has to be interpreted as: "If actors are more than X then don't show actors". The "problem" is evident: most of the missions have many more actors. So if you want to display them, you have to use a much bigger number, i.e. PAL3DMaxMenuActors=2000

It doesn't mean that will only show X actors and not the rest, becasue it is a nonsense showing some (only the first in order which not necessarily are the most relevant).


2) Once the pilot leaves the plane, all "view" controls stop working (Shift and Control F2, F3, F6, F8, etc.) so cannot scroll through other planes... also it takes away ability to shift pilot view to F8, making it easier to see where you are going.  (this used to not happen in v8)

Yes, the walking pilot is like that. The game itself has an isParatrooper condition for the player which is very restrictive. The game itself "ends" when you bailout, the player becomes an isParatrooper one and nothing more can be done. I had to implement an intermediate situation: the pilot doesn't complete a bailout and stays in a limbo, so I can achieve walking around, re-entering into planes, etc. But in code there are maaaaaany simultaneous conditions to achieve. F2, F6, F8 are for actors. Paratrooper in the limbo cannot be managed as an independent actor. I should have to re-write 10 classes of the game and the way they opérate with the Paratrooper condition to make it different: it's just crazy!

So the walking pilot is 100% first person. You want to be a human being? It has its limitations. If you want to switch views, re-enter a plane and you are in command of all previous features. This is not a moody decision. Consider that getting to this balance required tens and tens of hours of investigation, it is not random. And nothing substantially better can be achieved without a huge manipulation to the game.

Regards,
                         Pablo

Logged

UberDemon

  • UberDemon/danzigzag
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1192
Re: Visual MOD V9 (New Walking Pilot + Depth of Field + the rest)
« Reply #124 on: April 27, 2015, 09:08:41 PM »

Thank you for the explanation Pablo!

I set "PAL3DMaxMenuActors=20000" and it works perfectly.  Thank you for the explanation about the view control in the walking pilot.  It explains why the complexity caused v8 to crash when there were several bailouts.

UD/dzz
Logged
Best Regards, UberDemon/danzigzag, Get UQMG at SAS BAT Mission area.  www.uberdemon.net no longer exists.

teisco

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 204
Re: Visual MOD V9 (New Walking Pilot + Depth of Field + the rest)
« Reply #125 on: May 06, 2015, 04:30:08 PM »

As there is no documentation  with this mod could someone at least clue me in on what key to open the menu?
Logged

benitomuso

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2586
  • P.A.L.
Re: Visual MOD V9 (New Walking Pilot + Depth of Field + the rest)
« Reply #126 on: May 07, 2015, 04:11:35 AM »

The predefined one is "Home"
Logged

teisco

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 204
Re: Visual MOD V9 (New Walking Pilot + Depth of Field + the rest)
« Reply #127 on: May 07, 2015, 05:42:16 AM »

Thanks but my keyboard does not have a home key. Is there any way to set another key for the menu. Also I remember there is some text to add the the config to make this work but I cannot locate or find it anymore.
Logged

SAS~Gerax

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4765
Re: Visual MOD V9 (New Walking Pilot + Depth of Field + the rest)
« Reply #128 on: May 07, 2015, 08:55:40 AM »

you have to define a "home" key in the controls settings by yourself.
Find it there in the misc section.
Logged
i7-13700K, MSI RTX4090, Kingston 64GB, Asus Z790-P, Crucial SSD 1TB, Kingston SSD 4TB;

teisco

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 204
Re: Visual MOD V9 (New Walking Pilot + Depth of Field + the rest)
« Reply #129 on: May 07, 2015, 09:26:39 AM »

misc section? not sure where you mean.
Logged

SAS~Gerax

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4765
Re: Visual MOD V9 (New Walking Pilot + Depth of Field + the rest)
« Reply #130 on: May 07, 2015, 09:40:39 AM »

pics will help I am sure:

controls:



misc section:



game menu (aka home):


Logged
i7-13700K, MSI RTX4090, Kingston 64GB, Asus Z790-P, Crucial SSD 1TB, Kingston SSD 4TB;

MrMoonlight

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
Re: Visual MOD V9 (New Walking Pilot + Depth of Field + the rest)
« Reply #131 on: May 07, 2015, 09:52:27 AM »

you have to define a "home" key in the controls settings by yourself.
Find it there in the misc section.

No, no...I think he means that his keyboard doesn't physically have a "Home" key on the keyboard itself (known as "Pos 1" on a German keyboard). Although I have never seen a computer keyboard that didn't have a Home key. I know I couldn't write code very efficiently on the job if I didn't have one. I think teisco just isn't looking hard enough, or he's not using an English keyboard and "Home" is called something else in his language.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 ... 24   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.09 seconds with 25 queries.