Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 49   Go Down

Author Topic: msh Binary format  (Read 50159 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

gambit168

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 81
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2014, 07:02:02 AM »

Wish i had a clue m8  ;)
looks great what yer doing though 
i guess if it was gonna be easy,it would already be done!! Lol
looks like you gonna have 2 "suk it n C" till U hit the sweet spot!
keep plugging away at it m8, you know the old saying
"the harder the task the greater the triumph "  :)
Logged

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1266
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #13 on: March 30, 2014, 02:03:41 AM »

Ahhh this is good news

My app is performing as designed.

The propellers do not have the sort flag. It is a bug in the mod, which means my app actually is useful ;D

The duff polygons are my fault. It is the CAP meshes. I didn't realise that they are only used when the aircraft breaks up. Quick change in my code and the aircraft looks sweet.

I now have the control inputs working, you can move the joystick and rudder and see the ailerons and rudder move. Also flaps are working.
Logged

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1266
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #14 on: March 30, 2014, 03:31:00 AM »

This image I am pretty sure is a bug in the mod.

You can see that only one engine actually exists.  I have looked into the HIM file and cannot see anything that should be an engine.

Can someone check please?



Logged

SAS~Epervier

  • 4.09 Guardian Angel !
  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7406
  • I'm French and Rebel_409! Nobody is perfect!
    • Some tinkering here
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #15 on: March 30, 2014, 08:20:05 AM »

I have this problem with MeshConverter because in some files (Engine, Radial, Gear, ...) there is sometimes a blank line.

This kind of problem is more with the recent mods ...
Logged
A bove ante, ab asino retro, a stulto undique caveto.

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1266
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2014, 12:42:14 PM »

The type byte turns out to be very important, the material mapping table is normally type 3

Type 3 is a 3 byte per vertex format.

The actual value is (float)((byte1 + (byte2*256)+(byte3*65536))/65536.0f

Type 0101 is a byte accumulator
Type 2 is a short accumulator
Logged

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1266
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #17 on: March 30, 2014, 12:51:42 PM »

I have this problem with MeshConverter because in some files (Engine, Radial, Gear, ...) there is sometimes a blank line.

This kind of problem is more with the recent mods ...

Sorry not sure what this means.

My code can handle blank lines anywhere, are you saying that while making the mod meshconverter is used and a blank line at this stage can cause this type of bug in the modified mesh?

If so it motivates me a little more, maybe I can extend my app to be an editor.

Logged

SAS~Epervier

  • 4.09 Guardian Angel !
  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7406
  • I'm French and Rebel_409! Nobody is perfect!
    • Some tinkering here
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #18 on: March 30, 2014, 12:56:38 PM »

Yes !
The mesh-texte with blank line is not loaded in MeshConverter !
Logged
A bove ante, ab asino retro, a stulto undique caveto.

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1266
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #19 on: March 30, 2014, 06:48:05 PM »

Ok, I understand now.

Hmmmm. I may extend this app to allow you to use it as a mod tool.

Maybe you would like to start a new thread with features you would like and I'll see what I can come up with.
Logged

SAS~Epervier

  • 4.09 Guardian Angel !
  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7406
  • I'm French and Rebel_409! Nobody is perfect!
    • Some tinkering here
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #20 on: March 30, 2014, 06:57:05 PM »

The only indispensable tool that would be able to save a mesh-text in binary format to import them into 3DS!  :)  :-X
The rest I see in MeshConverter or your program is enough ... for me!
I am very novice in 3D!
Logged
A bove ante, ab asino retro, a stulto undique caveto.

PlaneEater

  • Akimbo pixelslinger
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 136
    • Garage Bay 9
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #21 on: March 30, 2014, 07:45:17 PM »

Stainless, if you keep this up and have a tool that can go straight from binary formats to importing to 3dsmax and back, you will be the patron saint of IL-2 model creation.
Logged

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1266
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #22 on: March 31, 2014, 03:08:44 AM »

I will get as much done as fast as I can.

I am waiting for some new work to start so at some point the time I will have available to work in it will shrink.

For the moment I will concentrate on getting this app finished, as designed. So I want it to be able to test a mod first. I want you to be able to import your modified mesh and test everything before you go through the whole process of adding it to the game.

Then I'll add simple bug fixing, cut and paste nodes, adjust node positions, etc.

Then I'll add import/export of file formats.

If there are any features any of you would REALLY like, post a message on this board. Either in this thread or start a new thread.
Logged

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1266
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #23 on: March 31, 2014, 04:17:57 AM »

As a quick feasibility check I added a context menu to the treeview. It allows you to cut and past nodes.

You can see that it works in principle, I need to add code to adjust the nodes matrix, but in principle it works.


Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 49   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.017 seconds with 28 queries.