Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: how to install Maps  (Read 11629 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

yubba

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
how to install Maps
« on: October 07, 2013, 05:57:10 PM »

Hellow guys, I could use some help installing maps, I looked for a tutorial on the matter no luck and the instructions in the read me's are alittle vag, I got the swordfish campaign from mission4today it called for the central med map I believe I got the correct one from here but I failed to get it to install,, but I managed to edit the campaign file to take the on board map it worked but no icons,,trying to get the Philopines map to get a kate campaign to work also from mission4today any help would be apperciated Thank You ,,Yubba
Logged

SAS~Boomer

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 814
Re: how to install Maps
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2013, 05:41:55 AM »

maps are fairly easy,and install the same way into any Modded version of IL-2
and you can usually just follow the file and folder structure of the downloaded map

For SAS Modact >
The #SAS folder is the Mods folder

#SAS/MapMods/maps
maps go into the maps folder

inside the maps folder there is a _Tex folder,install the maps textures into the _Tex folder
#SAS/MapMods/maps/_Tex

inside the maps folder there is a .ini file named all.ini
if it is a new map then that new maps name must be entered into the all.ini for the map to show in the drop down list to select it in FMB

Open the all.ini with notepad or other text editor
at the top of the list you will see[all]

example>
[all]
Slovakia_summer Slovakia/load.ini
Slovakia_winter Slovakia/load_winter.ini
etc. etc.

place new map name just under [all] or wherver else you would like the name in the list
first name is the maps name as you see it in FMB list
second name is the actual maps folders name so the game can find the correct folder
after the / is the correct load.ini the game reads and loads
notice above the Slovakia map has two load.ini's one for summer and one for a winter map

It also has two entry's with the first name different for each map
one for Slovakia_Summer and one for Slovakia_Winter

yet both have the same second name(both summer and winter maps are in the same map folder)
and both have there own load.ini to load for which ever seasonal version you choose to load

example to add the Bengalli map name to the all.ini>

[all]
Bengali Bengali/load.ini
Slovakia_summer Slovakia/load.ini
Slovakia_winter Slovakia/load_winter.ini

Hope this helps
Cheers


Logged

yubba

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
Re: how to install Maps
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2013, 08:36:30 AM »

thank you for your timely responce, sorry about thread placement. this alot more than I knew after hours of searching through threads, again thank you.
Logged

SAS~Boomer

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 814
Re: how to install Maps
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2013, 02:54:04 PM »

Your welcome Yubba,glad it helped  ;)
Logged

yubba

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
Re: how to install Maps
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2013, 11:23:27 AM »

Yes sir reee, I'm in uncharted territories, with the swordfish campaign,, and the b24 camel pond campaign,,all running nicely
Logged

FNRennier

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 367
    • 27
Re: how to install Maps
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2013, 02:56:45 PM »

Good question, yubba!
Good answer,  UP~Boomer !  :)
Logged
=FN=Rennier

rscaper1070

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: how to install Maps
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2013, 11:12:00 AM »

If a map has a 3DO folder does that go in the #SAS folder or does it get combined with the 3DO folder in the root directory?
Logged

SAS~Boomer

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 814
Re: how to install Maps
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2013, 04:15:09 AM »

If a 3do folder comes with a map,it's most likely objects or object reskins or something
the 3do folder needs only one folder depth so placing in your MapMods folder would suffice
and yes,it would go into the #SAS folder not the root IL-2 Directory

IL-2/#SAS/MapMods/3do  ;)
Logged

rscaper1070

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: how to install Maps
« Reply #8 on: December 24, 2013, 12:57:45 PM »

Thank you that helps a lot.  :)
Logged

tmansteve

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 131
Re: how to install Maps
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2013, 08:52:43 AM »

That's helped me out as well.  Thanks for the great info.

Cheers

Steve
Logged

skyrover

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 138
Re: how to install Maps
« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2014, 01:53:15 AM »

Your welcome Yubba,glad it helped  ;)

Hello,
Many thanks for your nice step to step guide, it helped me to have ,finally, a MAP installed in FMB, but....is there any way to have that same maps in QMB ? I was unable to find any suggestion about it.
Many thanks for your help
Logged

SAS~Boomer

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 814
Re: how to install Maps
« Reply #11 on: February 10, 2014, 01:31:01 AM »

To add a map to QMB you actually need QMB Missions to be made on that map
as it is really QMB missions in the QMB you play ,not being added to the QMB ;)

You need to download QMB missions already made,or learn to create QMB missions

Adding your favorite map to the QMB>
http://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&file=details&id=4014

hope this helps :)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.03 seconds with 25 queries.