Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Inserting mod planes into 4.12 SAS mod act  (Read 9939 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

kennel

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 85
Inserting mod planes into 4.12 SAS mod act
« on: July 08, 2013, 04:08:47 AM »

Gday

What procedure must be followed to activate modded planes in 4.12 using the mod act? If this is already in an instructional thread can somebody please point it out to me please

I have had disasters trying to do this so far (its been so long I have forgotten how to do it)
Too much ROF

Logged

SAS~Boomer

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 814
Re: Inserting mod planes into 4.12 SAS mod act
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2013, 05:46:38 AM »

Installing a plane in any Modact is the same
A few basic things need to be done

I'll use this aircraft for an example>
http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,8575.0.html

Download and extract to a folder on desktop you create
you will first notice that it extracts to a folder named MODS
That is because the plane was made for older Modpacks using a folder named MODS
With the new Modact 5 you have a folder named #SAS that is your Mods folder

Now open that MODS folder and inside it you will see the airplane folder "P-51D-5Ealry_NoFillet_NewSlot_newFM"
That is the airplane Mod

Now open the aircraft folder and you will see the ReadMe.txt file
Now Read it...
Inside the readme is all the info needed to be edited into your .ini files
close down the readme and.....

Cut and paste that aircraft folder to your #SAS folder so the folder structure looks like below>
IL-2/#SAS/P-51D-5Ealry_NoFillet_NewSlot_newFM

Once cut and pasted to your #SAS folder,open the planes folder and then open the readme again

air.ini: This entry is for the plane list in QMB and the FMB so you can select the plane,this is a .ini file
P-51D-5Early         air.P_51D5NTearly 1                        NOINFO  usa01 DESERT

planes:This entry is to make the name in the QMB and FMB list look more appropriate with the added ",1944" and this is a properties file
P-51D-5Early            P-51D-5 Early, 1944

weapons: These are the weapons for this aircraft and need to be edited into the necessary properties file
#####################################################################
# P-51D-5Early
#####################################################################
P-51D-5Early.default                       Default
P-51D-5Early.2x250                         2x250 lb. Bombs
P-51D-5Early.2x500                         2x500 lb. Bombs
P-51D-5Early.2x1000                        2x1000 lb. Bombs
P-51D-5Early.2xTank                        2x75 gal. Droptank
P-51D-5Early.none                          Empty


All planes install the same,and use the same files that need to be edited

Go into your #SAS folder
scroll down and open the STD folder
then open all the folders inside the STD folder> "com/maddox/il2/objects
that is where the air.ini resides

open the air.ini and add the air.ini entry
it can be added anywhere in the list you choose
I usually place it first in the list so first time I check in game it will be at the top of the plane list,eventually later moving it to where I want it
close and save the editing,I use text pad but any text editor will work

Now open>
#STD/i18n

you will find the plane and weapons .ini files in the i18n folder
open them in notepad,textpad or whatever text editor you use

starting with the planes .properties file
from the ReadMe,cop and paste the planes info>
"P-51D-5Early            P-51D-5 Early, 1944"
and paste to the top of the list in your "plane.properties" file
close and save

now open the weapons.properties file
copy the weapons info and paste to the top of your weapons.properties file
close and save

That's it,
now close out of your game folders and start the game up to check if the game works,and that the plane shows up in the QMB

Some planes are made for older versions and use a MODS folder
just ignore the MODS folder and open it to find the Mod
Your "#SAS" folder in your game, is the folder for Mods in SAS Modact 5

Above I highlighted in Red, the exact entry's needed to be added to the individual .ini and .properties files

Hope this helps a bit
Cheers

Moved to New Member Safety Area

ps:
This procedure works for all planes,and is the same for any modded version of the game
The files that need to be edited are the same in all game versions

Only the actual Mods folder is named differently from one Mod pack to another
#SAS for SAS Modact
#DBW for DBW
#UP# for Ultrapack
MODS is for HSFX users,which also uses a Files folder in conduction with there MODS folder
Logged

kennel

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 85
Re: Inserting mod planes into 4.12 SAS mod act
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2013, 06:11:02 AM »

Thankyou
Logged

SAS~Boomer

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 814
Re: Inserting mod planes into 4.12 SAS mod act
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2013, 06:40:32 AM »

your welcome,
please let us know how you make out   :)
Logged

Gremlin4

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
Re: Inserting mod planes into 4.12 SAS mod act
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2014, 07:09:09 AM »

These instructions were crystal clear and I carried them out to the letter. However, when I tried to run the program with the P51D, the program stopped at 60% and reverted to my desktop. I am running V4.12.2m with ModActivator 5.30. Does anyone have any idea why I should have this problem?
Logged

alexandre4442

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 126
Re: Inserting mod planes into 4.12 SAS mod act
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2014, 08:03:31 AM »

Hi,

try to take a look at this, it may help you : http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,22.0.html

Regards
Logged
This is not a Signature

Gremlin4

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
Re: Inserting mod planes into 4.12 SAS mod act
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2014, 04:13:52 AM »

Thanks to SAS~Boomer and alexandre442 above, everything is fine now. I can even fly a Meteor that I last flew in 1953 (no that's not a typo!)
Logged

Goanna

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
    • Wedge Tailed Eagles
Re: Inserting mod planes into 4.12 SAS mod act
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2014, 05:02:18 AM »

I can even fly a Meteor that I last flew in 1953 (no that's not a typo!)

How does the game experience flying the Meteor compare to the real thing?

Cheers
Goanna
Logged

SAS~Boomer

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 814
Re: Inserting mod planes into 4.12 SAS mod act
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2014, 03:16:12 AM »

This would be interesting to read,would very much like to read your comments of the in game Meteor from someone who has piloted them   :)

I can even fly a Meteor that I last flew in 1953 (no that's not a typo!)
How does the game experience flying the Meteor compare to the real thing?
Logged

tartenmuche

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 401
Re: Inserting mod planes into 4.12 SAS mod act
« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2014, 05:57:13 AM »

Dear Sirs,
I tried to insert new planes using the described procedure with:
Windows 7, SAS 5.30, Il-2 4.12.2m, SAS buttons-105-test.
I tried three times airplanes PBY and T33.
They never appeared on my game.
I am at a loss.
Could you help me?
Best regards.
I checked the game, found some mistakes but now when I try to launch the game I get the message "error 0xc00014233" .
One day later, finally I got it.
It works fine.
Logged
Intel Core Duo E8400 3GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti, 2x2 gb DDR2 1066 mHZ

tigerlima

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Inserting mod planes into 4.12 SAS mod act
« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2015, 06:29:05 AM »

~S~

I reeinstall IL2 and the last patch 4.13 RC, I need your help becouse don't install any a long time and forget all thing, help me please.
I sugest You made a video, is more easy, lot's of people like me don't andersthend English veryweel.
Tks in advance.

 ;)
Logged

Oldsalt

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
Re: Inserting mod planes into 4.12 SAS mod act
« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2016, 11:44:08 PM »

Can some suggest a simple plane that I can practice loading on.

Medion computer: Interl (R) Core (TM) i3 CPU 550 @3.2 GHz
RAM 4.00 gb  System 64 bit operating System.

IL2  4.10.1 SAS Mod Act 3.06   DBW 1.71    UP3_RC4
I will have to check but I think DBW 1914  is 1.61
Track IR running ok.

Over the week end I have tried to upload Duck Update Oct 2014
And the Short Sunderland 2.0

I have put them in the mods folder i.e. DBW and SAS and I have updated
the air.ini file and then put // in front when they failed to load at 60% as predicted.

I have checked the air.ini file against the published read me text.
I started on the Duck because I was worried about the various numbers
I saw in the Short Sunderland file system.  I have noted and checked the 3edo
File is on the right tier of the files.  I have also tried the Log info trick
to be quite honest I could not tell the difference between two logs one
when the Mod started up and another when it failed to load at 60%.

So could anyone suggest a the simplest of planes that hopefully will work.

All the best
Old salt
 

Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.217 seconds with 25 queries.