Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Pilot career too difficult?  (Read 6110 times)

IonicRipper

Pilot career too difficult?
« on: January 30, 2012, 12:47:36 PM »

I admit im totally new to combat flight sims and i have very limited skills when it comes to dog fights and im still learning.
But the pilot career in IL2 '46 just seems stupid to be honest; heres why...

Joined the USMC December 21st 1941 after a few days of quick missions to get accustomed to the games physics and AI and i think i grasp the basics fairly well.

First sortie went relatively well: Combat patrol with 3 other pilots, we lost 1 but downed 3 Zekes. Landed and went on to the next sortie.

This time they send only me and our company C/O on a combat patrol. We encounter 3 Zekez once again, i stay on my flight leader's tail the whole time while he shot down all 3 of them on his own. We continue our patrol only to encounter 2 flights of 4 Zeros and my flight leader gets killed within 30 seconds... I didnt last much longer.

Why the hell would they send a patrol of 2 F4F-3's on a patrol around the hottest part of the map? Its suicide!
I restarted a few careers and always ends up the same way in 1 or 2 sorties.

IonicRipper

Re: Pilot career too difficult?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2012, 02:52:48 PM »

Thanks for the reply Kiwi, will look into the mission builder but im kind of a lazy guy, i like to have mission all ready for me you know :P

As for the tutorial, i could really use the help. If you ever get down to do it, let me know :)

rollnloop

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2012, 03:26:01 PM »

i'm far from my gaming PC but, since i guess it's the dynamic pacific campaign you suffer with, just let  you know you can look for setting up different difficulty settings in dgen section of the conf.ini