Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: where's your technics.ru?  (Read 1196 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

fritzofpeace

  • semi-erect
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 282
where's your technics.ru?
« on: January 27, 2012, 06:16:03 AM »

The only technics.ru file I find in my 4.101m SAS Modact 3.0 setup is in

game folder/SAS/XTD/i18n

Is this the proper location of this file?
Logged

fritzofpeace

  • semi-erect
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 282
Re: where's your technics.ru?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2012, 07:04:25 AM »

will do, thanks a bunch!
Logged

western0221

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6533
  • Live in Japan
    • IL-2 itaki blog
Re: where's your technics.ru?
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2012, 07:06:49 AM »

/#SAS/XTD/ needs to keep.

Copy technics_ru from /#SAS/XTD/i18n/ to /#SAS/STD/i18n/ and edit STD one.
Logged

fritzofpeace

  • semi-erect
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 282
Re: where's your technics.ru?
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2012, 07:54:53 AM »

Western, I'm sorry, but, I don't exactly understand what you're telling me to do. ???
Gerax, did as you suggested, it worked!!!
Proceeded to load up the new"planes as cars" mod (the one with the nifty towed planes) and
YEEEHAW! :P
She works.  I'm still scared of messin' with those ini's, but, shoot, I may even take on some of Western's beautiful ships, if I figure out what he wants me to do. :-[
Logged

BT~Tarik

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1522
Re: where's your technics.ru?
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2012, 12:46:41 PM »

I think western says you should not mess with the technics ru in XTD, but copy it over to STD, where you can.
Logged

western0221

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6533
  • Live in Japan
    • IL-2 itaki blog
Re: where's your technics.ru?
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2012, 07:24:57 PM »

Quote
XTD, but copy it over to STD, where you can.
He can edit this files also in XTD, It doesn't matter. You can have dozens of i18n folders with property files inside and they will be read by the game as long as this i18n folders are in the correct paths. And XTD/i18n is a correct path.   :)
No.

SASModAct3.06 has two /i18n/ correct paths.

First is /XTD/i18n/
This is "MASTER" properties files folder and we shouldn't touch them.
When we touch /XTD/i18n/ and files broken... nothing way to recover working /i18n/ properties files.
/XTD/i18n/ properties files are read by SASModact as DEFAULT parameters.

Second is /STD/i18n/
This is "User editable" properties files folder.
When the same name file exists both in /XTD/i18n/ and /STD/i18n/ , /STD/i18n/ file is read superior as User edited.
This is best.
When you break /STD/i18n/ file, you can recover it only copy MASTER from /XTD/i18n/ to /STD/i18n/ .
Logged

fritzofpeace

  • semi-erect
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 282
Re: where's your technics.ru?
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2012, 02:50:53 AM »

Well, all I can say is, you two fellers have put a heck of a bunch of complicated mods on this site.
So, I can't help but feel that, somehow, you both know what you're talking about.
Thank you.
Logged

SAS~Malone

  • flying as #46 with the FAC
  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14431
  • proud member of that 'other' site
Re: where's your technics.ru?
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2012, 05:47:05 AM »

the inherent complexities of modding il-2 lies mainly with the fact that the sim was never meant to be modded in the first place, hence the sometimes 'complicated' nature of modding this particular beast....;)
Logged
.....taking fun seriously since 1968.....  8)

Thunda

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 466
Re: where's your technics.ru?
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2012, 07:25:06 AM »

Believe me fritzofpeace- if it was remotely difficult, I couldnt use it!!! ;D

I know it seems complicated at first, but once you learn the basic principles, its easy. Just use the .ini, weapons.ru etc files in the STD directory as explained above- not the XTD.

I think there are some basic modding guides on SAS if you search for them. (link anyone?)

Good luck!
Logged

SAS~Malone

  • flying as #46 with the FAC
  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14431
  • proud member of that 'other' site
Re: where's your technics.ru?
« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2012, 08:52:18 AM »

have a nice glass of wine, my friend... i think more a miscommunication than an 'overuling', i'm sure. ;)
Logged
.....taking fun seriously since 1968.....  8)
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.014 seconds with 25 queries.