Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: USN battleships  (Read 27558 times)

Gofo

USN battleships
« on: August 11, 2011, 04:05:49 AM »

Good day to all, salute!
I started working on the "big five" five months ago, starting from scratch. I first published a post on another site, also asking help for being a complete novice in modding. Some encouragement but no answer!
So, after the disappointment and a bit of time, I learned by myself and step by step how to use the UV maps and to make textures. This is the result today.

The image is a Colorado-class battleship (more precisely, the West Virginia) at the time of the attack on Pearl Harbour. As you can see, some details such as railings and ridging are still missing, moreover "cage masts" and radar array appear "solid". All because I have not yet learned to cut surfaces with alpha channel. Any web's tutorial has been fruitless, no joy!
Well, this is a major limitation to my first job. The second is that, nowadays I got a bunch of UV maps and textures: how to merge them? Every attempt was catastrophic.
I know that an undamaged and Level 0 model is just a quarter, perhaps a bit less, of the final labour, further level of details are necessary. Will a Level 1 be sufficient? A damage level 1 is requested?
I heard about collision boxes and shadows. How to realize them?
Once the design work has been achieved, I will begin to import the model into IL-2 using the sotware proposed by Maraz. By the way, I learned a lot from the discussions in the forum on the Nagato and the Eagle, much more than what is written in the "bibles" or elsewhere but I will need a hand. I’m sure I will get it.

Gianni

P.S Many others ships are queuing for the slipway, among these the R.N. Bartolomeo Colleoni, the HMS Hood, the USN England and the IJN Fuso. Help me to free up the slip…

asheshouse

• SAS Team
Re: USN battleships