Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 ... 8   Go Down

Author Topic: Ecran-Wide 2 ~ WideScreen Support for Il2  (Read 64291 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Dry Heat

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: Ecran-Wide 2 ~ WideScreen Support for Il2
« Reply #24 on: September 22, 2010, 12:04:22 AM »

I did use 7z and I do have the hash files.
Logged

SAS~CirX

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4802
  • No Zips, Only Buttons
Re: Ecran-Wide 2 ~ WideScreen Support for Il2
« Reply #25 on: September 22, 2010, 04:37:16 AM »

then have you made sure there is not another mod loading before this one, that has any of the same files in it?

Also have you set up your conf.ini for widescreen?
Logged

Dry Heat

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: Ecran-Wide 2 ~ WideScreen Support for Il2
« Reply #26 on: September 22, 2010, 09:26:32 AM »

I have turned off the mods in HSFX and conf.ini is set to 1920 x 1080 after discovering that on another forum.  As a matter of fact, I came across your mod when I was researching if it was possible to move the HUD/messaging text and the minimap to my newfound extremes.  Truly, hats off to you. 

My setup has other issues as well.  A little bit of history...

I recently re-introduced myself to IL2 after having it sit dormant on my system for a year.
I rewrote my CH-Products scripts, updated my ATI drivers and brought my IL2 install up to 4.09m, found the widescreen mod and added HSFX as I stated earlier.
After each step, I verified I had the performance I wanted. 

But after I added HSFX, for the primary purpose of adding 242's historical mods, I have observed the following:

I get the dreaded "60% Install" when trying to apply the historical mods.  No amount of buttons fixing made that go away.
My frame rate drops down to crazy low levels (1 fps to 4 fps) when terra firma is in 10% or greater of my frame.  If I point my view skyward I get 60 to 70.
--I thought I had fixed my framerate issue by dropping my terrain values to flat and low (dull and boring).  It did work for a time being.  But my past few game starts have proven otherwise.  The game is currently unplayable.  So, if anyone has any ideas as to where to look to make some changes I'd appreciate it.

I know I introduced a bunch of variables into my system and game configuration so in lieu of any specific board member recommended corrections to apply, I am going to restore back to 4.08m and start over. 

Since I'm talking about my "problems", here's some other things I encountered since I started to immerse myself into the greater IL-2 community:

This board appears to be one of the most current and extremely active with posts.  The updated stickies that keep important gameplay items current and foremost is the best community offering I've seen.

I've applied to a couple other forums (m4t and 242) and I've received no confirmation or reply.  With m4t I applied over a year ago without any success as well as recently trying again as well as sending a separate email.  Are these "invitation only" forums?  Do they screen out applicants that use browser based email addresses?  I have pop server access with my provider but I haven't used it in years.  Do I smell funny?



Logged

SAS~CirX

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4802
  • No Zips, Only Buttons
Re: Ecran-Wide 2 ~ WideScreen Support for Il2
« Reply #27 on: September 22, 2010, 04:43:56 PM »

Cool.

Firstoff, HSFX is realy geared towards SEOW players. 242sq also. A while ago, HSFX's core was used to make a user friendly ultimate modpack for the wider online and offline community. This is Ultrapack. There are forums out there that have personal problems with ultrapack, and express this by advising their readers to install HSFX. The result is the 242 got what they didnt want...

Start from 4.09m again (be sure, 4.09m, update your game to that). The you should go ahead and download and install ultrapack. This Widescreen mod is even in there already.

After that, grab the SAS Ultrpack "Modfolder" for UP  here : http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,7949.0.html
which will make it easy and painless for you to add more custom mods.

Good luck!
Logged

Dry Heat

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: Ecran-Wide 2 ~ WideScreen Support for Il2
« Reply #28 on: September 22, 2010, 11:31:14 PM »

Works as advertised.  All I can say is "WOW".  Following your recommendation for installing UP has created a new game for me.  I can now drive up my ATI card where I used to only be able to use directX.  I think I'll be hanging around this forum for a while.

I owe you a virtual beer.
Logged

Mick

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3987
Re: Ecran-Wide 2 ~ WideScreen Support for Il2
« Reply #29 on: September 24, 2010, 05:23:13 AM »




... the only "bug" I have is this transparent "frame" just under the map, tried to modify the square "Planxx" files to shorten them and make them rectangular but to no avail ...

Logged

SAS~CirX

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4802
  • No Zips, Only Buttons
Re: Ecran-Wide 2 ~ WideScreen Support for Il2
« Reply #30 on: September 24, 2010, 06:56:27 AM »

I have seen this before , but I cant remember.

Please look for other mods that could conflict, and also if this mod is properly installed and it is the latest version.

The mod should contain 4 classfiles
and in Ecran_Wide\gui\game\pad\

you should find 6 files,

I think the one in question here are padcelluloid.mat and planshet.tga, they are the important ones.
Logged

Mick

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3987
Re: Ecran-Wide 2 ~ WideScreen Support for Il2
« Reply #31 on: September 24, 2010, 08:02:02 AM »


... THX CirX, I'll give it a try but anyway I don't even consider it a "bug", I am so satisfied with this mod and my new wide screen ..  :D
Logged

SAS~CirX

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4802
  • No Zips, Only Buttons
Re: Ecran-Wide 2 ~ WideScreen Support for Il2
« Reply #32 on: September 24, 2010, 03:14:31 PM »

ah, wait, I know what this is Mick.

You have the Minimap mod from Benitomuso in there, dont you? (if so,you might have mentioned that ;) )

To solve, go into 00_PALMiniMapV2\gui\game\pad
and disable the PlanshetFrame.tga file.
Logged

Mick

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3987
Re: Ecran-Wide 2 ~ WideScreen Support for Il2
« Reply #33 on: September 28, 2010, 02:35:48 PM »



... ;D

... you were right CirX ... as usual ... a big THX ..!!
Logged

Flying H

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1104
  • "And you can fly, high as a kite if you want to..
Re: Ecran-Wide 2 ~ WideScreen Support for Il2
« Reply #34 on: September 28, 2010, 04:06:15 PM »

@Dry Heat, did 7z really unpack your screen to the size of Micks?! If so I´ll reject my winzip and start using 7z! My 24'' Benq would blow up to, what? 32'' or more? ;) ;D
Logged
And you can fly, high as a kite, if you want to.........

Dry Heat

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: Ecran-Wide 2 ~ WideScreen Support for Il2
« Reply #35 on: October 04, 2010, 11:51:30 PM »

If only Flying H.  I'd have some Jumbo-tron monitors by now.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 ... 8   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.014 seconds with 25 queries.