Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6   Go Down

Author Topic: Guide to getting your IL2 modded  (Read 71921 times)

propnut27

Re: an Idiot's guide to getting your IL2 modded
« Reply #24 on: February 14, 2011, 05:51:11 PM »

Have you got someone willing to help a sub idiot add a plane?

I readily admit to being an almost total illiterate on the PC. I have printed out numerous tutorials, tried every possible permutation of the words in the tutorials over more than a month, and have achieved exactly nothing.

I have got UP201 up and running, but I can't get anything else added to it. I have a degree in history from an accredited university. I thought that I had excellent reading comprehension talents. But I can't get bloody any additional planes to work. I get a 60% crash every bloody time. I've read all about how to fix that problem. Nothing works.

I think I've narrowed it down to misplacing the plane mod file in the MODS folder. As soon as I add the air.ini line it crashes. I've got the bloody buttons. My game doesn't care. Before I go starkers can some kind soul take me by the hand and walk me through the process step by step in the plainest possible language, so that a micro cephalic dolt, such as myself, can fly the Fokker G-1, my favorite WWII aircraft.

Back in the day when I was building models one of the guys in the modelling club had been a G-1 Pilot. He had escaped to England and spent the rest of the war flying Whitleys and Halifaxes for the RAF. He always spoke fondly of the G-1, claimed it could rip a Bf110 a brand new behind. I want very badly to fly that plane in the game to try to get a feeling of what he experienced. There are a few hundred more additions I'd like to try as well. But first I have to get just one to work for me. Have pity on a dolt.

<Gunny>

« Reply #25 on: February 14, 2011, 06:07:31 PM »